I don’t like Monday’s

It’s Monday. I know this because mum’s alarm went off and we all had to get up early.

I don’t like Monday’s for two reasons.

  • The humans all leave the house for the whole day and leave me all alone
  • I have to spend the day in my kennel.

Since the male humans have been away, I miss mum even more when she’s not with me. All weekend we are together all the time, and then Monday comes and I am so lonely.

I don’t like my kennel. I don’t understand why I have to spend the day in there.

Can’t I please, please be left free in the house?
No Sabrina, you have to go in your kennel.
Please, just this once? I promise, I’ll just lay here on the blanket and not move. Pleeeeeese?

I'm already comfortable, you can't move me.

Looking cute isn’t going to help you. It’s kennel time.
Why, why do I have to be in my kennel?
Because I don’t trust you not to potty in the house.

And now we get to what I really want to talk about today. Before I was rescued, I would potty wherever, whenever I wanted. I didn’t like having to potty so close to where I slept, but I didn’t have much of choice.  After I was rescued, I suddenly had all these potty rules: I could only potty outside and I had to get a human’s attention to be let out. Sometimes my humans don’t see me waiting quietly at the door so I have to take matters in my own paws.

Soon after I came to live with my humans, I found out about the basement and the soft carpet down there. The carpet feels like grass on my paws – warm, dry grass. Just the feel of that carpet makes me want to potty. It’s kind of like the outside; it’s just past the door that leads to the outside, but better. I don’t have to wait for anyone to let me in the basement, it never rains down there and I found out that the cat….the cat goes potty down there.

Why can’t I just potty down there? I won’t bother anyone to let me in and out, I won’t track in muddy or wet paw prints and then I won’t have to be in my kennel. It’s the perfect solution. Besides, the cat potty’s down there.
The cat has a litter box, that’s where he’s supposed to potty. He doesn’t mess on the carpet. There is a big difference.

So I just started sneaking down and going potty when my humans weren’t looking. I guess they found me out. A new vacuum cleaner was bought that washed all the yummy smells out of the carpet and then this appeared.

Not funny

What’s a pug to do?

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in pug free zone, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I don’t like Monday’s

  1. Will says:

    That’s what you get Sabrina. So there

    • Will! When are you coming home? I miss you eversomuch! Mum keeps saying “not for a while” but it’s already been Forever! I always stay close to the computer when you and mum are talking on it, but that’s just not the same.

  2. WolfSong says:

    Welcome to Blogdom, Sabrina!
    Well, as unfair as having to be in your kennel is, if you potty in the house, it has to be. one day, you may have free reign when Mum goes out, but it takes time! And no pottying in the basement for a long time…:)
    Looking forward to reading more of your adventures!

  3. Hi Wolfsong! Thank you for reading my blog.

  4. Pingback: A Star is Made – and the Return of the Man called Uncle | Sabrina's Pug Tails

  5. Pingback: Promises made – Goals to keep | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

