Salt – good on food, not on Pugs

Mum’s sister invited us for dinner tonight. Auntie C and her partner have two dogs named Livingston and Zoey.  They aren’t pugs, but I can forgive them. They have some very nice toys have no issues with sharing.

Livingston (left) and Zoey (right)

The humans had salmon and when they were done, they gave the salmon skins to us. Salmon skin is so yummy-awesome!

Cassy lives in an apartment. So this means that when I have to go potty, rather than being let out the back door, I have to get my sweater & leash on, run down two flights of stairs and then try to go on a small plot snow on command. This doesn’t work so well for me. As much as I tried I just couldn’t do it.

On the way back inside I had to wait while mum fought with the door. Suddenly my feet started to itch and burn. But the time we got back inside, it felt like my toes were being bit by a thousand tiny voles. When I started to cry, mum grabbed me up and brushed off my toes.

Why does it hurt?
Poor Sabrina, you stepped in road salt. I guess the condo management isn’t using the type that is safe for dogs.
But it burns!

When we got back to the apartment mum wiped off all my feet to make sure no salt was left. Later when Zoey and Livingston went outside, Livingston came in crying from the salt on his feet as well. Auntie C has promised to call her condo management tomorrow and make sure they start using pet-friendly road salt.

What can you do to keep us pugs safe from road-salt? When we got home, mum went straight to the computer and searched the Google for an answer. Dog Speak! had a lot of good suggestions. It said to not let your doggy friends lick off any salt because it can burn our mouths and our tummies. It said to always wipe off our feet when you come in from outside and even use baby wipes on our toes to make sure they are clean and salt free.

Gee I never knew how dangerous going outside could be. Maybe, just maybe I’ve got a case to convince my humans that I should just be allowed to potty in the house.

In the meantime, when you come back from walks and the like, don’t forget to ask your humans to wipe off your feet. And if your humans absolutely have to use salt on their sidewalks and driveways, for Pugs sake, tell them to use pet-friendly salt to prevent your toes from burning and feeling like they are being eaten by a thousand voles.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salt – good on food, not on Pugs

  1. WolfSong says:

    This is one of the reason we use sand-or non clumping cat litter-instead of salt for ice. As bad as salt is for pug feet, it is also bad for the environment, as well as shoes, and carpets…it’s just not a good thing to use for ice. Sand can at least be swept up in the spring, and we have even re-used our winter sand a time or two, after a good spring sweep.

    I hope your feet feel better today! Salt burns are nasty feeling…

  2. Pingback: Visiting relative | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

