Tiny Tim – the Christmas Puggle

Mum says that during the Christmas Season we need to think of others and not just ourselves. That is part of what Christmas spirit is all about.

So today I want to devote my blog to Tiny Tim, aka Timmy.

Timmy is a four-month old puggle who was surrendered to the Boston Terrier and Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba. How could anyone give up a puppy with this cute a face, you ask?

Well Timmy had contracted  something called Parvovirus, a very serious virus and often killer of puppies. The symptoms include vomiting, diarrhea and lethargy. Untreated, this virus results in death in 80% of the cases. If treated early, the success rate is about 80%.

It took Timmy almost a full week of intensive veterinary care to recover from his illness.1 His vet bills were very expensive, more expensive than some people can afford to pay, especially if the vet cannot guarantee that the puppy will recover. The really sad thing is parvovirus is very easily preventable through vaccinations and keeping puppies away from areas where dogs congregate, until they are fully vaccinated.

Timmy’s original owners did not know the importance of vaccinations and were horrified when they found out they could have prevented their puppy’s illness so easily. Sadly, they were unable to afford the costly vet bills for his treatment so they selflessly agreed to sign Timmy over the rescue.

The rescue was already up to its eyebrows in vet bills but was not about to turn away a dog in need. They immediately went on Facebook and asked for donations to help them out. It didn’t take long to reach their goal, thanks to the generous people on Facebook; Timmy’s story captured the hearts of many including mum, who requested to foster him.


Don’t let the sweet face fool you, Timmy is a fighter and when faced with a fight for his life, he gave it his all and pulled through with flying colours.

He is due for his first vaccination later this week. He will not be eligible for adoption until sometime in January 2011 after his vaccinations are all done. Nor is he allowed any leash walks or pug parties until that time.

In the meantime, me and Timmy are playing lots together, and snuggling even more. I’m teaching him how to be the very best puppy he can be. He is still not quite comfortable with mum’s camera but he’s beginning to learn that the camera often means cookies.

Mum says Timmy will make some family very, very happy once he’s allowed to be adopted. I say that family better come to the pug parties and pug walks so I get lots of opportunities to play with my new friend.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Timmy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiny Tim – the Christmas Puggle

  1. Wilma says:

    Hi Sabrina,
    My name is Wilma. I live in the US. I just started subscribing to your blog. I think it is very sweet of you to post about Timmy your foster bro. He looks like a real sweetie. I am sure he will find a forever home where he will be loved and cared for. In the mean time, looks like he hit the jackpot for foster homes.

  2. Hi Wilma,
    Thank you so much for subscribing to my blog.
    Timmy is the sweetest puppy, and may even rival me for cuteness – maybe.
    As much as I love being the only dog in the house, I do enjoy having foster siblings to play with. Once they are adopted out, I still get to play with them at all the pug meet-ups.

    Sabrina

Leave a Reply

