Get the Cat!

Shinobi is my brother-cat. Although we have only lived together for a bit less than a year, we are the same age – we both turned two. Me in October, him in November.

Shinobi was adopted through a no-kill shelter when he was still a kitten. He was the one who told me about the other dog who had lived here before I came. He won’t speak about him much though. Shinobi has told me a few stories about his life before me. Like how he and my humans lived with a bunch of other humans and their cats for a time. He doesn’t mind being around a dog or two, but living, playing and sleeping with a pack of cats is something he really misses.

Anyway, more about me.

When I was first rescued, it took a while for Shinobi and I to become friends. Me, because I’d never met a cat before and didn’t know how to act around one. Him, because…….well, sometimes Shinobi is just grouchy and set in his ways.

Over time Shinobi has taught me many things. He is the one who taught me how to play chase – my very favorite game in the whole wide world. Because of him I learned the joys of wet cat food – most likely the best tasting treat going. Well ok, second best only to freeze-dried liver. He showed me the pure bliss that is laying in a sunbeam early in the afternoon. He taught me that the best place to sleep is on the humans’ pillows and he taught me about the treat cupboard. He’s a good cat that way.

Shinobi usually sleeps in bed at night, often mere inches away from me. However a strange thing seems to happen every morning: I wake up suddenly with the inane need to get the cat! Typically this happens before the morning alarm sounds so the humans are less than pleased to be woken up with my cries of panic that I’ve discovered the cat in the bed. It usually takes only a couple nips or pounces on the cat to persuade him to leap off the bed and flee for his life, with me in hot pursuit. There are mornings that Shinobi wakes before me. When this happens, he makes sure to walk on me to wake me up and get the game started.

Now before you start rising up against my “feline abuse,” let me set a few things straight. Shinobi does start the game almost as often as I do. A nip, or even a full-on bite from me rarely results in anything more than a bit of drooled-on fur. The cat needs only to jump on a chair to be out of my reach. And don’t forget, he has claws. Have you ever been on the business end of an annoyed cat’s paws? It hurts. Thankfully Shinobi’s smacks are usually as harmless as my nips.

So I guess it really is a myth that cats and Pugs can’t live together in harmony. In every good relationship you need to have a balance. There are times to snuggle, there are times to play and there are times when you just need to get the cat!

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in dog rescue, Shinobi, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Get the Cat!

  1. Love the story of Shinobi and Sabrina’s morning bed ritual…how funny! We so wish we could add a cat to our family, but sadly, I’m allergic 😦 Glad to know these two live in harmony (most of the time). 😉

    P.S. The photo of Shinobi’s eyes and tongue is gorgeous! The color just POPS!

  2. WolfSong says:

    That’s part of the reason Chyna sleeps on the floor. She, too, has a serious love for playing “Get That Cat”. I cannot imagine her doing so on the bed…of course she weighs about as much as 5 Sabrinas would, so yeah, sharing the bed with her isn’t feasible anyways. 🙂

    With some direction, she has herded the cat from the kitchen to their kitty house…and yes, they are coated with drool when the cats get where she wants them. Even German Shepherds drool…

  3. My tale of Pug and Cat is a little different. I think Sunshine the Cat and I are friendISH but not FRIENDS. She totally invades my space and I never invade hers. The other night she even snuggled onto my HUMOM’s lap just as I was making MY way over to it!
    But then again, she makes sure I get up in the morning by tapping on the bedroom door. Then she waits just outside it so I can race her downstairs to our food bowls. So she is FUN and AGGRAVATING all at the same time.
    Love Noodles

  4. Winston Wilbur from 2 cats and a pug says:

    my goodness I totally knows what it is like to live with a cat. I have two sisters!!!! They were 3 when I came into the picture, Tika is really cool and we hang togethers lots. Kizzy she is grouchy sometimes and set in her ways. She is the boss here and Tika and I follow her lead.

    Winston

Leave a Reply

