February means Festival du Voyageur

Bonjour!

Kira and I have been feeling like a pair of bonshommes de neige lately.

What’s with all French? Well, it is February, and French is the language of love.

Oh, and today is the first day of the Festival du Voyageur. The whole city is abuzz with excitement over this winter festival.

I’d like to tell you about some of the great concerts and events associated with this festival but most of the venues are not Pug-friendly so I’m not allowed to check them out. Of course, you can always click on the link above for those human-only events.

Rather than moan over what I can’t do, I’ve decided to amuse you with sharing some of the awesome snow sculptures around town.

Channeling my inner polar bear

This sculpture was a challenge to pose with. It's situated in the corner of a very busy street. All those cars wizzing by combined with the howling wind was very scary.

Pug on a cracker!

I love this cool geometric sculpture

I hope you’ve enjoyed my tour. Do you have any winter festivals where you live?

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to February means Festival du Voyageur

  1. Wilma says:

    Wow Sabrina! Those are some cool (pardon the pun) snow sculptures. I am not sure about winter festivals, but in the summer near us we have the Oyster Festival and people make giant sand sculptures. Mom wanted to make a big snow pug with all the snow we had, but by the time she finished shoveling it, she was too tired.

    • Those moms! Mine tried to make snowman in my backyard and got too tired. Then she was going to make snowangels, but after doing a flying back-flop, decided the snow felt like a big comfy lounger and setteled on laying there pretending she was on a beach basking under the bright sun.

  2. We have a big Chinese New Year Parade coming up this weekend in San Francisco (I live south of there) AND in a month will be the Nikkei Matsuri in San Jose. We also have a big Cinco de Mayo parade and Mariachi Festival (Linda Ronstadt often attends). I love the multicultural Bay Area.
    Love Noodles

  3. Reggie says:

    Oh wow! Those sculptures are almost as awesome as the cute Pug posing with them! We don’t get enough snow to have that where I live in Portland, Oregon but we do have something called a Rose Festival. It’s not very fun because it’s not Pug Friendly… There are a couple parades and a carnival with scary rides. I would just want to “mark” on the Rose Bushes so maybe that’s why it’s not Pug friendly?
    Au revoir, Reggie
    P.S. Hopefully my attempt at French impresses you, I don’t knows how to speak much but agree it sounds like a language of love. My human told me it would melt your heart. I hope when your heart melts it’s not painful because it sounds painful but my HuMom says that’s a good thing. Silly humans.

  4. Punchbupug says:

    WOW~~~ Those sculptures are amazing. I don’t think our town has any Winter activities. The County does do a Polar Plunge, but I think that’s about it.

    Re: my collar flowers…do you mean bling on the flowers? like beading, glitz?

    • Yes, exactly. Beads, sequins, or a button. How cool would a rhinestone or pearl button look in the middle of one of those flowers? If you biggify the ice sculpture pictures, you’ll see the center of my harness flower has a couple beads in the centre – it’s how mum sewed it on the harness.

  5. Oskar says:

    Those sculptures are very cool & you look great in your stylish harness.

    I have a great blog I’d love for you to check out, http://www.PetBlogsUnited.com. It’s a wonderful place for pet bloggers to find each other.

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

Leave a Reply

