Uh mum, I think you brought home the wrong dog

Some days I have to wonder about the humans I live with.

Let me explain. Last week Kira and I went out to visit Lindsay. She is one of the coordinators for the Boston Terrier Pug Rescue; the one Kira is being fostered through. Visiting Lindsay is so much fun, it’s like a Pug party – with toys. Not only does she live with three Pugs, but she is always taking care of other foster dogs as well. When we went over she had Valley, a Pug/Lab cross and Molly, a Cocker Spaniel.

Kira and I had lots of fun playing with the other dogs, all the toys and getting lots of human snuggles. I got to try a new kind of Nylabone that was just the perfect size for me. Don’t worry, I made sure to drop it in mum’s lap a time or two to make sure she would remember what it looked like the next time she hits up the pet store.

The drive home that night was kind of tense. A snowstorm had blown up during our visit. The car was blown all over the road and there were times there was so much snow we couldn’t even see the road. Being the good helper I strive to be, my focus was on keeping mum calm and reassured. I spent the entire trip leaning on her elbow from the passenger seat infusing her with calm and peace. Kira, in the back seat was left to her own devices.

It wasn’t until we got home and were getting in the house that I realized a mistake was made.

There had been lot of confusion when we left; 7 dogs all mobbing the front door a the bottom of a narrow staircase. Perhaps in the hubbub the wrong dog was leashed? Maybe mum is colour blind? Maybe she can’t tell one dog from another? Really, I know understand. Does this look like it belongs to a Boston Terrier?

Uh mum, I think you brought home the wrong dog.
Don’t be silly, of course I didn’t.
…………..
Kira is going to a new foster home, with a dog that’s a bit more suited to her than you are. In the meantime, Molly is going to stay with us.
But, what if she doesn’t like her new foster home? What if she’s sad?
Let me show you something, and you can decide for yourself.

Well, I guess Kira will be just fine. It’s amazing how much more spunk she has now that she is feeling better and not consumed with itchiness. Most of the time she was staying with us she was quiet and sleepy from all the medications she was on. It’s like she’s a brand new dog. Good for her. She does still have some work to do before her allergies are fully under control, but she is clearly on the mend.

Take good care of her Brodie.

I’m not sure how I feel about Molly yet. She has all this soft golden fur I just want to lay against. She’s like a big furry pillow. I’m really kind of jealous of her fur, mum keeps petting her and telling her how beautiful it is. She’s like a big, stuffed teddy bear.

She is also very docile which means I don’t have to worry about her playing too rough with me. In her last home she was the bottom dog in the pack hierarchy. Because of this, she was picked on quite a bit. I think this has made her insecure around toys and treats. She has this idea that I’m going to try to go and steal whatever she is playing with. Being the good mentor that I am, I’ve been working hard to reassure her. Even going so far as snuggling with her while we both had bully sticks to chew on.

I know she is going to find a home real soon. How could anyone resist her cuteness?


It’s kinda hard on a Pug, making all these new friends just to have them leave and go live in their new homes. But I know just how important it is to open your home to dogs in need of fostering. I’d hate to imagine what my life would have been like if I’d stayed with my original owner, or worse, been sold to some stranger who might breed me for money.

A year ago I was rescued and delivered into foster care. My foster family fell in love with me, adopted me and I never looked back.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in boston terrier, dog rescue, foster dog, Kira, Molly, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Uh mum, I think you brought home the wrong dog

  1. Molly is absolutely gorgeous. I love that paw photo. There’s something about the pads of their paws that melts my heart.

    At least they were sharing a bed…that’s a good sign!

  2. Reggie says:

    You’re being a good Pug pal to all these fosters! I was in rescue and foster care too a year and a half ago and appreciated my friendly foster buddies. There’s a forever home for all these great dogs somewhere out there. I think your coolness will rub off on them and help them find their new homes. 🙂

  3. Noodles says:

    What a GR8 story, Sabrina. All of your foster sisters and brothers are so lucky to have you around. You teach them the most valuable lesson around – LOVE.
    Love Noodles

  4. You guys are awesome to take in foster doggies! Your newest looks so sweet and fun! Enjoy your new friend, Sabrina.

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  5. WolfSong says:

    Molly is so pretty. I just wanna kiss her on the nose… 🙂

Leave a Reply

