Gotcha!

Yesterday was Louis Riel Day in honour of the Father of Manitoba. This holiday is celebrated on the third Monday in February. It is also my Gotcha Day.

In 2010, Louis Riel Day fell on February 15. Given a choice, I’d much rather celebrate my special day on a holiday than as an afterthought of Valentines day. Mum agreed this would work very well for her – she’s kind of bad with dates so that’s what we are going with.

What did I do for my Gotcha Day? I spent most of the day snuggling with mum on the couch, I did go for a quick walk with Molly, bundled to the eyeballs in winter-wear – it was -20C at the time. And then mum and I  reminisce about the day we met.

It wasn’t just luck that brought us together. Mum knew she wanted me before she even met me. You see, she’d just lost her good friend, Barney (tissue warning) and was somewhat manically looking to bring a new dog into her life. She’d seen an ad for me on the internet and found out a local rescue group she was already fostering for had made arrangements to have myself and my three pack mates surrendered to them. In a leap of faith, mum asked to come along for the pickup.

During the drive home mum and Lindsay, the coordinator from the rescue discussed names for us. It is customary to name groups of rescued dogs with a theme in mind. But they couldn’t come up with something suitable so mum called The Will. What names fit a group of four, three girls and a boy? Charlie’s Angels of course – the original TV show, not the remade movies. Yea, The Will, he’s got my back. Right from day one. And so we were named Jill, Kelly, Sabrina and Bozley. And with that, were ready to start the next chapter in our lives.

Newly named and ready to go home on my Gotcha Day

Wow, I look so stressed out in this picture. Some days it good to think back on where we came from; it sure makes me thankful for the life I have now.

Anyway…… on the to food!

In honour of my Gotcha Day, mum went out and got me my very own cake.
It’s an iced blueberry muffin topped with a heart-shaped peach. A wonderful lady in the Safeway bakery was nice enough to add the icing on it just for me.



 

 

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in dog rescue, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gotcha!

  1. Happy Gotcha Day! What a great story.

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  2. Congrats Sabrina!!! Gotcha Day is so special in our house. We have 4 of them . . . Mommy #1, her 2 cousins, and me – we all have Gotcha Days.
    You look so cute eating your special muffin cake.
    Love Noodles

  3. Alfie says:

    That looked like a great cupcake, Sabrina. My Mom says Dr. Worb said to watch my weight so I do but I sneak when I can. I have two other Brothers so Fostering is out according to Grant but really it is too hard on Mom’s legs. I heard Jamie is your new cousin now, well, congratulations! See you on Sunday. Alfie

  4. Reggie Pug says:

    I have never heard of Gotcha Day! When my day comes around this year I am going to make my humans through me a party or at least get me a cupcake. I don’t think they knew about it either because last year I didn’t get one… How exciting to have a day just celebrating you. I can’t wait for my Gotch Day to come around! Have a great Gotcha Day!

  5. Happy Belated Gotcha Day, Sabrina! That looked like such a delicious muffin…and your mum’s photos of you are stunning!

  6. Jenn says:

    Happy Gotcha day!!!!

    Hugs
    Sequoia and Tuni

  7. Salinger says:

    Happy belated Gotcha Day, Doll!!!!

    That blueberry muffincakey looks FABULOUS!

    Love,
    S-Dog

  8. Pingback: Not to Wordless Wednesday – Gotcha Weekend | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

