A backwoods walk

It’s been very cold lately.  Too cold for walks. Yesterday the temperature finally rose to almost -10C. As soon as mum came home from work, out came the booties and snow suit and off we went.

Behind my yard are a series of trails, many of which lead into the Assiniboine Forest. There is one main trail that is regularly groomed and can handle 3 humans walking abreast. The lesser trail that is directly behind my yard is much less used and as a result is only a narrow path in the pug-deep snow. Of course this is the trail we took on this day’s adventure.

This is such a nice trail – fences on one side and a line of trees and a creek on the other. Many of the yards have dogs in them.The houses end quickly and are replaced by the forest. Deer, rabbits and other wildlife live in the forest. The animal tracks crisscross everywhere laying a maze of wonderful smells.

In the protection of my booties and coat I was able to venture into the deeper snow without too much fear of freezing my sensitive parts right off. It makes me jealous of Molly just a little bit. With all that fur she doesn’t seem to feel the cold and snow at all, she loves to bound through the fresh powder.

In the forest there is no sound. In the summer there is the sound of the wind rustling the leaves and the song of the birds. In the winter there is only stillness and snow…. and the soft tinkle of our dog tags.


 

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in dog sweater, Molly and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A backwoods walk

  1. Sabrina you look so cute in your coat and booties!!! It is nice to walk even when it is cold, huh?
    Love Noodles

  2. alycia says:

    oooh my gosh those booties are so cute!!

  3. I love Sabrina’s boots and coat…what a fashionista!

    I know it’s cold, but your photo makes everything look so beautiful!

  4. Winston Wilbur from 2 cats and a pug says:

    omp you look sooooo cute in the boots and coat. OMP mum luv luv luvs this picture.

    what a nice walk you hads. It must have been so peacefuls with no sounds except the dog tags I sure would likes that very much.

    Winston

  5. Pingback: Adventures in deerland | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

