Stairs in the making

Yesterdays post featured a picture of my broken Pug stairs. I never thought I’d miss something so much. Having doggy stairs gave me the freedom to get on and off the bed as I please. They meant I could lay on the bed all afternoon in the sunbeam. They meant that I could safely get off the bed while in hot pursuit of the cat.

It took a couple of days of pouting before the humans banded together in an effort to make me happy again. After some discussion, the humans made the decision to build a new set of stairs that would fit my needs rather than gamble on what they could find to purchase in town or on the internet. Uncle sat down and designed the perfect stairs, with the promise that they would never fall apart on me. I love Uncle!

I think it’s only fair to say that my humans are much more comfortable with computer issues than they are with power tools. For me they agreed to step outside their comfort zone.

Because the weather was so nice, the deck got set up as the construction zone. The stairs were blocked off for the canine safety and the doors were opened wide for free access to the outside. If you look in the background of this picture, you can see the neighbour’s tree still has a bunch of snow under it.I was given the important job to keep any random intruders out all the while making sure that Shinobi didn’t sneak out. Very important jobs indeed and you know I took this responsibility very seriously. I made sure to bark at every dog, rabbit, squirrel and bird that came within a block of our house. Teagan helped too, she’s good like that.

Here’s a picture of me guarding the door and telling Shinobi to stay inside.
When it came time for the power saw, Shinobi and I both high-tailed it  inside for safety. That thing is scary loud. Teagan, she sat calmly at mum’s feet under the fall of the sawdust.  There are days I see some benefits to being deaf.
Once all the sawing was done, the pieces were brought indoors for assembly. Admittedly, the sun was going down and it was getting kind of chilly on the deck.
It was really cool to see how fast the stairs went together. I’m please to report, the drill isn’t nearly as scary as the power saw.

The first day of construction went off without a hitch. Sunday was scheduled to be sanding and staining day. Sadly when I woke up, it was raining. The rain then turned into snow. The new stairs are facing a delay in completion, but they should be finished next weekend. I can hardly wait!

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Pug, Shinobi, Teagan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stairs in the making

  1. Salinger says:

    OOOHHHH! New CUSTOM stairs! I think a nice scarlet RED would be totally YOU, honey!!!!

    WHat the HAAAAIL happened to your old stairs??? Were your hoomans trying to use them? HAHAHAAA!

    Love,
    S-Dog

  2. Good thing you kept watch on the deck while your new stairs were being built. Never know who might have sneaked up and taken them away!

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

Leave a Reply

