Adventures in deerland

The dog parks have all been super wet lately. I guess it’s a side effect of spring, and all the flooding Winnipeg has been having lately. Leash walks around the neighbourhood are OK, but sometimes a Pug just needs to run leash-free.

After days of sighing and pouting, mum finally gave in. She still didn’t want the hassle of wading through the dog park so she came up with an alternative, the path into the forest behind my yard.  I haven’t been there since the winter when I went with Molly.

This is one of the nicest things about our neighbourhood; you get to the end of our street and you have a choice. Turn right and you walk down residential streets, turn left and you walk onto a trail that leads you into a forest.

Because it was just the two of us and because there were no other humans in sight, I was permitted to run free and without a leash.
It was pretty dry, providing we stayed on the main path. Here is what we found when we went down a lesser-used route.
A bit too wet for me, thank you. So we turned around and went back onto the main trail. After passing by some scary dogs we soon came up on another set of large animals.
What you see on the left of the picture is the fences of the houses on this route. Many yards have salt licks on the fences so the deer will come around. These deer let us get quite close before calmly slipping back into the forest.  Not much further up the path were another couple of deer.

I don’t know why the one deer was wearing a collar. I asked mum and she had no idea either. Maybe you know?

I must have gotten a bit distracted in all my sniffing; at one point I looked up and mum was gone! I looked around and realized we’d gotten to the school yard, marking the end of the trail-part of the walk. Mum was half way across the yard before I was able to catch up with her.

Wait for meeeeee!

I was ready to head home so I leashed up and off we went down the street to our home.

After such a fun adventure there is only one thing left for a Pug to do.


About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Pug, Walk and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Adventures in deerland

  1. Ahhhhhh…I love the “wait for meeee” photo and caption. It looks you had a fun day out.

    As for the collar on the deer…my guess is that someone wants to track it? Odd that only one had a collar on.

    P.S. We are still so jealous of that sock monkey bed – it is SO cute!

  2. WolfSong says:

    Wow. Is it bad that I looked at the first deer picture and thought”Perfect shot, soup in the pot tomorrow, steaks on the BBQ tonight!” 😉

  3. Karen Millar says:

    Wow, you had quite the adventure, Sabrina! Those deer are way cool, though i don’t know either why one had a collar — maybe it was for some research purpose? Who knows! I love the picture of you running to catch up with your mama! Puggie ears flapping while running is sooooo cute! 🙂 You know, I have another internet friend who lives in, what she refers to as Winterpeg! Glad things are beginning to dry out there!

  4. Glad you were able to find somewhere nice to romp without the leash.

    As for the collar, when wildlife control is tracking a herd they usually only collar one or two of the deer. They figure the rest are moving where it moves. Capturing deer to collar them in traumatizing so they may not want to do it to all of them.

Leave a Reply

