O freedom, O freedom

Today’s post may be short on cute pictures, but long on words.

Saturday was a series of very sad events and fresh starts. It started when I first woke up and when I went outside and it was pouring rain. Just the day before mum and I were laying on the grass basking in the warmth of the sun. I know the rain is needed to make the gardens grow, but it sure isn’t pleasant to run around in.

Next mum got a message on her cell phone which flew her into a whirlwind that quickly blew out the door until after dark. Without me. The rest is the story mum told me when she finally got home.

The text was from Lindsay of the Boston Terrier Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba. She was wondering if mum would like to join her on a mission to rescue some needy dogs being sold by a puppy mill that is closing down.  No it wasn’t shut down – the owners are just retiring. Now this is not a large-scale puppy mill like I’ve seen on Animal Planet, but when your sole purpose for living is to breed and produce puppies, it doesn’t matter if you share your fate with twenty or a hundred other dogs.

The kennel looked fairly clean, but according to the humans, the smell of ammonia was enough to make them gag. There was no heat except for a couple of heat lamps in the whelping boxes, only one of which was turned on. In the front half of the kennel were the moms with litters and a couple kennels of puppies who no longer needed their mother’s milk. The back half were pairs ready for mating. These breeding kennels had doggy-doors to allow for outside excursions. Each kennel measured about 4′ x 5′ with a larger outside section for the adult dogs.

With a bit of negotiations, the humans were able to secure the release of two adult dogs and one very sad puppy with a third adult (the puppy’s mother) thrown in for free.

Yes, the rescue did pay to acquire these dogs. They felt it to be the lesser evil than to allow them to be sold into possible further breeding. As it was, the kennel owner joked how two of the adults were probably pregnant so the humans would be making a profit from them.

On the long drive back to Winnipeg, the humans offered an apology for those they left behind. A dog rescue’s funds are limited, but more importantly foster homes are needed before dogs can be retrieved. Winnipeg is lush with generous families willing to open their homes and foster dogs in need. Sadly the dogs in need vastly outnumber the available homes.

The first stop in town was at the vet to have the mom and pup checked out. The mom, newly named Freya, has given much of herself to produce multiple litters and this has taken a toll on her small body. Her back legs are weak and prone to giving out. This makes if very difficult for her to get around. The vet was unable to determine whether she is suffering from hypocalcemia due to nursing and inadequate nutrition, or pelvic trauma from giving birth.

The eight-week old puppy, who was sold with an assurance of having a clean vet check, had an eye infection and bilateral luxating patellas (a common genetic condition in these dogs) that may require surgery down the road. Luckily for her, the humans recognized that she was much smaller than her litter mates and was most likely not strong enough to survive without her mom quite yet.

This little girl will get the care she needs to grow strong. She will be spayed as soon as she comes of age and will never face the suffering of being bred for money. She has been given a name, Tyra, and has quickly learned the comfort of living in a warm and loving home. The puppy who once isolated herself from her siblings, shivering and hiding in the corner has already bloomed into the holy terror she was destined to be.

Believe me on this one.

Baby Tyra, Gisele the Boston Terrier, Dolce and tiny Freya in the back. Freshly rescued and ready for their new lives to start.

It’s Wednesday and time to head over to BlogPaws for their Wordless Wednesday Blog Hop.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in boston terrier, dog rescue, foster dog, Pug, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to O freedom, O freedom

  1. Your mom is an angel along with the others that sprung those beautiful pups and puppies!

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

    PeeS: Hum0m said she would want to take them all in!

  2. Payton says:

    I bet it was a long weekend for your mom, but you must thank her for giving those sweet angels a chance at a good life.
    Love,
    Payton

  3. Karen Millar says:

    How sweet of your mom to rush out to go help these little ones! And I’m glad at least these dogs will have a chance at a normal loving doggie life now that they are free from the puppy mill! Nice work, Sabrina’s mom!

  4. Sad they could afford to rescue the many but THANK GOODNESS they were able to rescue the few!
    Love Noodles

  5. Alfie says:

    Wow Sabrina, lots of new ladies that have come into the Rescue. My Mom wanted to help save more, but I told her that sometimes you have to be happy with whom you have saved and given a better life to. Mom is friends with a lady here who has two Chins – I am beside myself. She told Mom that FINALLY she has been accepted by Luv-A-Chin in South Dakota for a 1 year old male Chin named Jake. He was Mommy’s special dog til ME, of course! The Rescue down there wants to bring the Chin here as there are none. I think Mom will begin fostering if this happens. She would like Pugs or Chins. So much work for me to help her but she gives me all the toys I want and a new little Bro like me. We will both be busy for a while. Alfie

  6. Alfie says:

    Jake was a Husky- Terrier cross that lived 15 years. THis Jake is brand new to us! Alfie

  7. I’m so sorry to hear this sad tale. But, I can say that when we took our Olive in – after being rescued from a puppy mill (she was a female breeder dog)…even after she lost her left eye to an infection, I was so happy that my big dogs, Chester and Emily, accepted her right away. Now, they are all great friends. We love our rescues. We wish all puppy mill dogs could be rescued.

  8. Oh how sad but happy at the same times. Mum was interested to hear about the back leg issue. She wonders if this is what is Tuni’s problem (my girlfriend). Tuni has been loosing control of her hind legs and is now unsteady when she walks. Tuni came from a puppy mill where she was used to produce litters. She is very small and Mum wonders too if she is so smalls due to over breeding at a young age.

    Thank yous for helping the unfortunate ones. Although you aren’t able to rescue them all you still managed to save the lives of a few and that makes all the difference than none at all.

    Winston

    • Hi Winston,
      I’ll be blogging more about her later this week, but I did want you to know that the rescue has agreed to take her to a chiropractor to see if this will make a difference. I am sad to hear that Tuni faced a similar existence. I know I was very lucky to have escaped becoming pregnant before I was rescued. I was owned by two different breeders in hopes that I would breed.

  9. Pingback: Gisele – the graceful beauty | Sabrina's Pug Tails

  10. Pingback: Freya – I was loved once. I WILL be loved again. | Sabrina's Pug Tails

  11. Pingback: Tyra – snips and snails and…… | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

