Freya – I was loved once. I WILL be loved again.

My sweet foster-sister, Sabrina has graciously offered her blog this week to feature each of us four who were recently rescued from a puppy mill. Mine is part three in this series.

Although I have never done this before, Sabrina has encouraged me to tell you my story myself. I will do my best.

Freya – I was loved once. I WILL be loved again.

I was loved once.

I was once somebody’s pet and companion.

When I became too old/too much work/ lost my novelty, I was given back to the breeder that I came from. No longer young enough to sell for a profit, my body was used to produce multiple litters of puppies.

I don’t know how old I am. When I saw a vet after being rescued, he said my teeth were in such poor condition that it was impossible say my age. Mentally, I feel like a little girl, yet physically, I feel like a senior. Birthing my last litter damaged my body in such a way that I have lost a lot of strength in my back legs. I can walk, I can even run, sometimes, but I can’t jump or climb stairs and my legs often give out when I’m trying to get around, especially on a wood floor.

My last litter consisted of 6 puppies. Only 3 survived. Of those 3, two are already growing up big strong and healthy. The last one is very small for her age and is a lot more delicate. She may not have survived if she had not been rescued with me. At 8 weeks, she couldn’t even eat dry kibble.

My one puppy and I live in a foster home we share with three humans another Pug and a cat. I still sleep in a kennel at night and during the day but I am also given the freedom to explore a huge back yard and have a whole house to call my home. I have been given a new name, a name that means love and beauty.

I love my foster family very much. They make sure to give me lots of cuddles and attention. We spend loads of time snuggling on the couch and I even get treats.

As soon as I met my new foster-mum I knew that I belonged in a home and made a promise to myself to be the best Puggy possible to make sure I am never discarded again.

I love my puppies and have always treated them as best as I could. My little girl is still learning how to act properly around humans and other dogs. I am her mentor and her hero. Now that she is warm and given individual care, she is growing big and strong. Soon she won’t need me anymore and will be adopted into a family who promise to love her, care for her and will never, never, never make her breed. Or make money off her in any way.

I am so tired of being a momma. Once baby Tyra finds her new family, I have vowed that it is my turn. In the meantime I am learning every day how to be a good dog.

I WILL be a perfect companion.

I wish I was allowed to sleep on the bed like my foster-sister, but because the humans wish it, I sleep in a kennel with Tyra. I make sure never to make a peep while I am in there and I have never messed in the kennel – although Tyra does. I eat the kibble that is given to me and I try not to beg from the humans because they have told me not to. Even though their food smells just so yummy.

The humans have told me I have to potty outside. This sounds a bit extreme, but my foster-sister goes outside, so I do too.  Sadly, I have to be carried outside and back in because of my gimpy legs. I feel so badly for making the humans do this, I’ve started making my way down the stairs by myself. I have even started doing this to tell them when I need to be let outside to potty.

I WILL be a good friend and I will NOT be a burden.

I look at my wasted body, my teats that almost drag on the ground and I get very angry. I look at my sparse fur and wonder if it will ever grow back to the luxurious coat it once was. This is not the life I was destined to live. I was meant to be loved and cuddled. I was meant to run and jump and play with my favorite humans and four-footed companions. I see humans walking with their dogs in front of my new home and just know I was meant to be one of those lucky dogs out on an adventure.

Last weekend my new foster-mum took me to a garage sale that the The Boston Terrier and Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba put on to raise money for vet bills.

My vet bills.

I got to ride in the car on the way there. The car frightened me but Sabrina leaned against me for the whole ride and let me know by the relaxation in her body that there was nothing to fear. At one point she even laid down and went to sleep, while still pressed against me. I was still scared, but I took my cues from my foster-sister and relaxed my body until I began to realize that it wasn’t a scary experience at all. In fact, it was kind of enjoyable.

At the garage sale, the humans lined to hold me and cuddle me. Each and every one of them kissed my wrinkly head and told me I was beautiful.

Me.There were other Pugs there too that were available for adoption. Dolce, who was rescued with me, was there. As was Vinny, who was recently surrendered by his previous family. Even baby Tyra made an appearance. Although the other Pugs were paid attention, the humans still wanted to hold me.

I have been told that I will be going to see a special doctor this week to help get my legs working better. A chiropractor. I don’t know what that means, but my foster-mum says this doctor will help me by touching my spine and my joints. She has promised it won’t hurt and I shouldn’t be scared. Because I am a good Pug, I will do my best and maybe the doctor will call me a good dog and rub my head.

Because I AM a good Pug.

And someday, hopefully I will belong to somebody who loves me and they will belong to me too.

Sabrina tells me that my posting happens to fall on Wordless Wednesday so it’s time to hop on over to the BlogPaws Wordless Wednesday blog hop.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in dog rescue, foster dog, Pug, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Freya – I was loved once. I WILL be loved again.

  1. Alfie says:

    Wow, I am sorry your life until now was so difficult that it even ruined your health. You don’t know my Mom but she cried when she read your story cause she loves all dogs and especially us, the ones that come with baggage. Mommy gives “donations”, I guess money, to Lindsay and the other Ladies to help with your vet care . Grant is mean to her just cause she doesn’t have to have only a purebred, like my Bros are. I am going to him sometimes but I truely trust Mommy and Stephen, he is my human Brother. I hope the Doctors will help you cause Mommyhas trouble walking as well but even she says you are beautiful. I would love to be your friend and- BTW, you have the best Foster Mommy and Foster Sister around. Alfie

  2. We love your beautiful face! and no gray muzzle at all, so you must be on the younger side. Please know that our paws are crossed for a wonderful forever home for you and your pup.

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  3. Sarah says:

    Thanks so much for sharing Freya’s story – we need to shine the spotlight on irresponsible breeding practices.

    Good luck, Freya – I hope you find your forever home soon!

  4. Kristen says:

    You are such a precious Pug Freya. You will find your home. Your story made me so sad but also happy that you have found a rescue. You will live the rest of your life with love and happiness. You will find your forever home. I am sorry about your rough life. When I adopted Reggie from the Pacific Pug Rescue it was the best feeling I have ever had. A family out there will have that feeling for you and you will be given the life you have always deserved. You are a good Pug and a beautiful Pug. Your body will start healing and so will your heart. There are good humans out there unlike the ones where you were left to breed. Take care and thanks for sharing your story. You are in good hands with your foster family and you have a great Pug foster sister to look out for you.

  5. Tammy says:

    Oh, this post brought tears to my eyes. I know that Freya and Tyra will both find wonderful homes. When I was a teenager, my dad rescued a little dog that he called Little One. She was a standard chihuahua who had a life that sounds much like Freya’s. She lived with us for a few years, and she learned to play, got lots of love. She had a hard time learning that it was a safe place, and OK, but she learned to play and love us!

  6. Jess says:

    Poory Freya. What a sad, tragic little story. It’s is too back ignorant people cause such havoc like this. I hope you find a forever home with kind people.

  7. Sequoia and Tuni says:

    Freya you are a sweetie pie. I too am like you. I must be carried outside to do my business because of having many litters and no vet care. You are my younger twiner I think. Let me just tell you that yes you will be loved again and no one thinks its a burden to take you out to pee. It just lets your human have an extra hug everytime you get picked up and go outside. My human even ‘hugs’ me when I poops because my legs go out every time and she wouln’t trade me for anything. Freya you are a special lady and we are so thankful for your special foster parents!!!

    Tuni Woons

    • Thank you so much Tuni. I am sorry that you too were damaged by having too many litters without proper vet care. It’s a fate I wouldn’t wish on anyone, Pug or otherwise.
      You give me hope that I will find my special family one day. In the meantime, I have started seeing a chiropractor and am working on regaining the strength in my legs. The chiropractor says he won’t be able to get my legs to work perfectly, but he will be able to make me feel and walk much better than I did before seeing him.
      Puggy purrs,
      Freya

  8. Pingback: An update on Freya | Sabrina's Pug Tails

  9. Pingback: A reunion, new beginnings and sad good-byes | Sabrina's Pug Tails

  10. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday – A face from the past | Sabrina's Pug Tails

  11. Pingback: Freya and Petal come to visit | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

