Tyra – snips and snails and……

Today is the fourth and final part of the puppy mill rescues from the Zhoda Kennels. I am pleased to say that The Boston Terrier and Pug Rescue of Southern Manitobahave received donations from some very generous people. Donations that will allow them to go and rescue the rest of the pugs (and other dogs too) that were left behind after their last visit to this puppy mill.Thank you.

For today’s post, mum has requested that she be allowed to speak on Tyra’s behalf. Because Tyra is too young to write her own blog, and because mum is the keeper of the liver treats, I said OK.

Tyra – snips and snails and……

Tyra on the day of her rescue - 8 weeks old

At just under 10 weeks old Tyra is everything one would hope in a puppy. She is funny and mischievous. She is so darn cute it’s difficult to get mad at her, no matter how much trouble she gets into. The Will feeds her in the mornings and when she is done, she comes running into the bedroom to say good morning to me. Did I mention she learned how to climb the Pug stairs all by herself?

Like a typical puppy, she has only two speeds: full-tilt and dead stop. She just loves to wrestle with her momma. There are days I don’t know how Freya keeps up with her. I swear she is covered tiny punctures from being on the receiving end of Tyra’s mouth full of needle teeth. When she is done playing there is nothing she loves more than to curl up in your arms and sleep.When she sleeps, she is so ridiculously adorable, it’s enough to make you tear up.

Tyra in the garden - 9 weeks old

She is growing and developing so fast you can almost see it happening. It’s hard to believe that less than a week ago she still wasn’t eating hard kibble. She still loves her warm mash – kibble run through the food processor until it’s a fine powder mixed with enough warm water to make it the consistency of porridge. But she is slowly being weaned off this.

Freya has a habit of crooning when she is content and I have no doubt Tyra will pick up this habit as she gets older. When you hold her close, she already makes the sweetest little noises. Of course, if you are holding her close enough to hear these sweet noises, than you do run the risk of having your ear pierced by her little teeth.

I can’t remember the last time I lived with such a tiny puppy. Sabrina was over a year old when I got her. Timmy was four months old when I started fostering him, and already the same height as Sabrina. As much work and as much trouble that she gets into, I value every day I get to spend fostering Tyra, watching her grow and develop.

Sadly, I’ve begun to understand more and more that Tyra is the reason why people will continue to be able to breed dogs for money. Regardless of where they came from, regardless of the horrific conditions their parents are kept in, it is almost impossible to resist a puppy. From her velveteen fur to her puppy breath, and her puppy sighs; from her playful pounces to her adoring glances, Tyra will make you fall in love at first sight.

Tyra is surrounded by love. She has long forgotten her days of living in a cold kennel. She knows no fear and is a very happy, emotionally balanced little girl. She is benefiting from the extra time she is getting to spend under the tutelage of her momma. Because she is under the protection of a dog rescue, she will be spayed as soon as she is old enough. At that time she will also have the surgery to widen her nostrils, allowing her to breath freely. Any prospective adoptive families will be screened before being able invite her into their lives.

That lucky family will be blessed by Tyra’s gift of joy and unconditional love.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in dog rescue, foster dog, Pug and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tyra – snips and snails and……

  1. Joan Hargrave says:

    You are their angel, Shaila. You show them love and attention and they come out of themselves . I am so happy that the Ladies have been given the money to free the poor doga and puppies left behind and close down that nasty Mill and its nasty owners. THis is success at its finest. I have a donation for them that I know they will need in vetting bills. You sure right with your heart, I know by reading your posts whether they are yours or Sabrina’s. She is your heart dog as Alfie is mine. I plan on buying Jacob from Luv-A-Chin and they are sending Val Pankhurst and I two others to foster and see how people like the Chin dog. Val is bringing her 2 Chins on Sunday to the Dog Toy Sale so people can get an idea what they are like although Alfie has their personality. Bless you Shaila for fostering and bless the people who made this Rescue possible. Joan

  2. She is beautiful! I’m sure a family will love to adopt her! Can she go with her mother?

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  3. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday – A face from the past | Sabrina's Pug Tails

  4. Pingback: Freya and Petal come to visit | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

