So pooped!

There’s an old saying “Be careful what you wish for, it might just come true.”

On Friday I was really wishing for something to ease the rainy-day blues, especially a long walk. On Sunday I got my wish but it was way more than I was prepared for.

Sunday started out pretty normally –  if it were Monday, that is. The humans got up real early, got dressed, put Tyra and Freya in their kennels and were ready to head out for the day. I was very confused because at this point the weekend had felt way too short to be a Monday.

And then a wonderful thing happened – The Will picked up my leash and invited me to go for a walk! I didn’t even mind that it was still raining just a bit.

I was loaded into the car and mum got in too. We headed off to the Yellow Arches for some yummy breakfast and then were off on our adventure. When we arrived at our destination, I was greeted by my pal Phil and a bunch of humans. There was lots of standing around and walking to and fro for a very long time – like hours and hours of it. At least the rain had stopped so I didn’t have to get wet and freeze my toes off.

Mum’s note: All pictures today taken on a cell phone, please excuse their sad quality.

The humans carrying a doggy pool - getting ready for the big walk

Eventually more dogs came with their people. It was nice to see some of my doggy pals. Dolce was there and so was Teagan. Teagan has been with her new foster family for a while now. She went to live with Brodie – the same doggy that Kira had gone to live with before she found her forever family.

There were all sorts of dogs there, big and small and even a kitty. Everyone stood around and visited for a very long time. It was like a Pug Party, but with leashes.

If only Shinobi knew a kitty was attending - he'd be super mad that he wasn't invited

Phil explained to me that this was supposed to be some fundraiser for both the The Boston Terrier and Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba and Craig Street Cats. His mum and her friends have been organizing the Wolseley Walk for Wags and Whiskers for some time now to help raise money for much-needed vet care for all the Pugs (and other dogs & cats too) that are currently for adoption He told me the walk was a full 6.5 kilometers (that’s 4 miles for you American folk). I don’t really know what a kilometer is supposed to be, so I just panted and wagged my tail at him. That Phil is a funny duck some days.

Dogs (and their humans) of all shapes and sizes waiting to go for a walk together.

Dogs (and their humans) of all shapes and sizes waiting to go for a walk together.

Suddenly we got the word, and just like that, everyone headed out on a group walk. We were joined on the road by a whole other group of humans who were running. Very strange, we had Dolce with us. I kept wanting to warn mum that we already had two fosters at home. There really is no more room on the couch for one more Pug, no matter how soft her fur is.

Just as it started to rain again, we came up to a watering station, Dolce’s foster family, Jessica from the rescue and Charlie, one of their super cute adoptables. Dolce was left at the watering station because she had another event to attend with her family later that day.

Isn't it nice to have people waiting around to give you water when you are out for a morning walk

After that everything became a bit of a blur. We walked and walked. We walked on roads, we walked on gravel and on grass. At one point we walked across a scary bridge that had lots of blowing wind on it. I was frightened that I would just blow away so I made sure to keep as low to the ground as I could go while we hurried across. As we walked, the sun came out and it finally started getting warm.
We walked so long, I thought it would never end. I hardly gave a care when we crossed a second scary bridge, this one with lots of cars whizzing by.

Finally, we got back to the place we’d started from. I was so tired I considered just falling over and never getting back up.

And then we walked a little bit more.

And then I was given something that made me forget just how tired I was. Black cherry yogurt. OMP, that delicious creamy treat tasted so good! I would walk until my feet fell off if that were what I’d be getting at the other end!

Black cherry yogurt makes my heart go a-flutter

All too soon it was time to go. We got back into the car and I fell immediately to sleep.

Face-plant!

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in dog rescue, Fundraiser, Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to So pooped!

  1. Payton says:

    That sounds like so much fun, Sabrina! The yogurt treat would make me forget about the long hike too. Don’t worry, you can sleep and rest up today.
    Love,
    Payton

  2. Hi!

    We had a walk this weekend, too. But it was sunny and nice. Wasn’t it fun! Our feet were tired too and we slept a lot when we got home as well. Mack and I don’t like water but the other big dogs liked to play in the water stops.

    We had Frosty Paws for the 1st time, so I guess it kind of like yogurt?

    Rest up our fine, young friend. You deserve it!

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  3. furfilled says:

    What a day! 4 miles of walking on your little pug legs is quite a distance! A fun hike and cherry yogurt sound like just the antidote to the rainy day blues. : )

  4. Karen Millar says:

    Oh my goodness, Sabrina, that faceplant pic is totally adorable!!!!!

  5. Sequoia and Tuni says:

    Love the face plant zzzzz!

  6. Dana & Daisy says:

    What a walk you had! Glad you got a nice treat and a nap after your adventure!

    -Dana & Daisy

  7. Oh my goodness, Sabrina. You looked totally exhausted after that long walk! Way to go for making it that far!

Leave a Reply

