And then there was one

Wow, the house is really quiet.

After such a hectic weekend, you would think I’d be enjoying the peace. But so much change at once can be stressful on a little Pug. Let me tell you about it.

You already know that Freya has had her surgery and will be doing her recovery with Lindsay. What I hadn’t told you was that Tyra met her new family this weekend as well.

They are from Regina, Saskatchewan which is about 7 hours away. That’s just under a full day in a kennel. Honestly, I think they really just wanted an excuse to meet me.

After visiting for a couple of hours, Tyra was given a shiny new collar and a pretty new name to match – Petal.

This name is actually quite fitting. I have never met a Pug who is more obsessive with sniffing every flower and plant she sees.

Of course, this is the Ty-runt I have come to know and love….Here is a picture of Petal and her new family. Freya and I also agreed to be in the picture.

I have already heard that after a long drive home on Saturday, Petal has already won the hearts of her new family including her new dad who was not able to make the road trip. Hopefully they’ll be able to come back for a visit every now and then.

FREYA’S UPDATE:
I know you are anxious to hear how Freya is doing. She had a very long day today.  Her vets were worried about how much they were going to be able to do because they did not want to keep her asleep for too long. Well, they really showed their competence today. She had surgery on both of her knees, got her spay & tattoo,  had four rotten teeth removed and was still able to have her nostrils widened and her soft palate shortened. She is staying overnight at the vet’s office for monitoring but I have been told she is doing well and will get to go home with Lindsay tomorrow.

I remember how crappy I felt when I had my surgery and all I had was the spay and nose job. I can’t imagine how miserable dear Freya is feeling tonight. And lonely too. The next few weeks are critical to her recovery and the success of her knee surgery will depend on her staying immobile.

Freya, you are in my thoughts today and in the coming weeks.

 

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Freya, Pug, Tyra and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And then there was one

  1. I am so happy for Tyra aka Petal. And with your loving care I think Freya will recover quickly and completely.
    You are one good pug.
    Love Noodles

  2. Payton says:

    Great news today! I know it will be a bit lonely, but it’s so great that Tyra (Petal) got a new home and her mom Freya is doing well after all of those procedures! Sabrina, you always have us to keep you company!
    Love,
    Payton

  3. petal! what a perfect name i love that! ❤ and here's to freya's speedy recovery! talk about a one stop pug surgery shop 🙂 glad that it was all able to be done at once. i'm curious to see how the elongated palate and nose surgery's outcome is. if it actually reduces snoring/snorting/breathing issues. 🙂

    • Alfie says:

      Deuce had Dr. Sra do his and he still snores and snorts but he breaths easier. He was actually fainting and needed it . I believe it has saved his life. Joan Hargrave

  4. Alfie says:

    We hope to get a new sister here. Her name is Garielle and she is 8, older than me. SHe is not a Pug but a Bichon. We have to meet her this week and see how that goes. Those Pug Brothers of mine better behave or Mom will do some re-arranging of sleeping arrangements. As long as Mom still loves me, I can accept her as she is quite pretty. Thanks to Barb and her Foster Mom, Evelyn. She is from “Small Dog Rescue.” Mom had to tell Grant that she wanted a female and we think he understands. Alfie

  5. Sequoia and Tuni says:

    Oh we are going to miss Trya aka Petal but she has a wonderful family of her own now. What a cute name she has too!! Petal the pug 🙂 We are glad to hear Freya got all her surgeries down what great vets!! And we send extra hugs to you miss Sabrina we now you miss your friends.

  6. Pingback: A reunion, new beginnings and sad good-byes | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

