From terrified to terrific

When last I blogged I told you about the terrifying experience I had visiting the City pound. What I didn’t tell you about was why I was there.

An emergency call had been sent out by the Winnipeg Animal Services for foster parents. Like many of the rescues in town, they were full to the brim and had just gotten another seven dogs dogs surrendered to them. This was on top of the continual influx of stray and unclaimed dogs.

One of these dogs in need of an immediate foster home just happened to be a corgi cross. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned before but mum has a real soft spot for corgis. With Freya recovering from surgery at Lindsay’s place, mum just had to answer the call.

Meet Sprite (now named Cali)
She is a 10 month old corgi-terrier cross who was found running in the north end of town with her brother. When she was picked up she was covered with ticks and terrified of the world.  Even after her 10 day hold-time she was still covered with scabs from where the ticks had been pulled off. When we went to meet her at The Pound, she did her best to show her most submissive side by rolling over on her back and piddling when she met us.

Quite frankly, I can’t blame her. I was just about ready to do the same thing if it would mean I could get out of that place.

In the past week, Cali has really a long ways. It took her a couple of days to relax enough to even wag her tail. Now she runs and plays like a regular puppy. She is still very shy and scared around strangers but that will come with time. I’ve been taking her to the dog park. Although she loves the freedom to run and play chase with me, she still gets overwhelmed by all the different dogs there.
Today we went to the SPCA Paws in Motion walk. I told mum that it would be a very good experience for Cali. Not only would it desensitize her to being around strangers and lots of dogs, but it would also be a chance for Cali to potentially meet her new family-to-be. So mum dressed her up in an adopt-me vest and off we went.

Who could refuse this sweet face?

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in dog rescue, foster dog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to From terrified to terrific

  1. Lilo says:

    So sweet!! I hope Cali finds her forever home soon!! She is such a doll!!

  2. Col says:

    Sprite is just the sweetest little girl and so very very lucky to have you as a foster mom. Sadie and I were at the walk as well! I wish we had seen you… but wasn’t it an awesome time! So many great dogs! 🙂

  3. Jen says:

    This dog, especially the first picture posted, reminds me of Merlin. The adorable scruffiness of that one always made him my favourite in that little pack of misfits. Max, Merlin and Lady so different from each other that it was so hard to remember that they had all come from the same litter.

    • Sabrina’s mum:
      You are right, she does have that same look Merlin did. I always marvelled how different those three puppies looked. Merlin looked like a Westie, Max looked like a Chihuahua and lady looked like a brown Minuature Pincer.

  4. Hi Sabrina
    What a super time! First you meet Cali and then you get to help her overcome her shyness! That is so cool! Cali is lucky to have such a wonderful foster sis.
    Love Noodles

  5. Cali will certainly find her forever home. Who can resist her sweet puppy-ness and smile?

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  6. Payton says:

    Aww! Sabrina, it is so wonderful of you and your mom to take care of these dogs in need. You guys are heros. I bet Cali will find her new family very soon!
    Love,
    Payton

  7. Nancy says:

    I just happen to come across this site and the crazy thing is I’m the one who fell in love with this scruffy face and adopted her. Kali (we changed the C) has been with us for 2 years, 5 months and has adjusted into our family. She still has certain issues, but we are still working on them. I love her dearly, she makes me smile and laugh every day. I’m sure glad I went to the Paws in Motion walk that day June 2011. Thank you. Sincerely, Nancy P.

Leave a Reply

