An update on Freya

She may not be living with us right now, but Freya is still on my mind. Thankfully Lindsay has been kind enough to send some pictures along so I can give you an update.

The Dr. Sra at Southglen Animal Hospital reported that poor Freya had no existing groove in her little knees for her knee caps to fit into. No wonder they kept popping out. He was able to fully recreate a knee socket on one leg and insert two pins. The other knee was not as lucky. The bone was so frail it kept disintegrating as he worked on it. He was finally able to make the operation work, but there was only enough bone to put one pin in. Her legs make her look like a Franken-Pug, but once the staples are out, you’ll never see the scars.
With her repaired soft palate, the only thing Freya agreed to eating during the first couple of days after her surgery was sliced roast beef. Because there are other dogs in the house, Lindsay has been placing her on the kitchen counter to eat. She refused to take her pain pills easily so Lindsay had to push them down her throat. This caused an interesting reaction.

I don't like that pill. It makes me drool a little.

That pill tasted very yucky. Maybe if I drool a lot I'll be able to get that rude taste out of my mouth.

Linday’s cat, Gypsy is a but confused about this weird drooly dog who’s been hanging out on the kitchen counter – her domain. She has come to the decision that Freya must be some kind of kindred spirit and they should be friends. In her vulnerable condition, Freya is not entirely convinced this is the best idea.

I am not a cat?

Despite her insecurities about her new friend, Freya is enjoying her new position as Counter-Pug. She gets lots of one-on one attention and maintains a high status above the pack.
Her knees are mending well. Dr. Sra was very pleased with her last check-up. She is now even allowed 5-minute leash walks to break up the boredom of her kennel rest.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in foster dog, Freya and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to An update on Freya

  1. Seasweetie says:

    I’m so glad Freya is doing as well as she is!

  2. Payton says:

    Oh my goodness, what a sweet pug Freya is! She looks great, and has to be enjoying that roast beef! I know I could go for some right about now… And tell Freya not to fret about that drooling. I used to do that too before I switched foods.
    Love,
    Payton

  3. Wow, look at those zippers on her knees! We’re surprised she can even sit up or stand and she’s walking now, too! Isn’t medicine wonderful. Thanks for updating us, we’ve been thinking about her surgery and recovery.

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  4. awww sweet baby freya! i want to give her a hug and a kiss 🙂

  5. Freya already looks so much happier and healthier. What a great turnaround.
    Love Noodles

  6. Sequoia and Tuni and Emma says:

    Counter pug so cute! Tuni is a kitchen table pug…that is were she has to eat now since we got Emma. Freya is so funny with all her drool.We hope her little legs heal so she can run run run.

  7. Alfie says:

    You are doing well, Freya, do keep it up. I am lucky and I have no knee problems nor do my brothers, Deuce or MoJo. However, Mommy has an awful time with her knees, I asked if Dr. Sra could help but she just said, she will be alright and carry on. We do have a new brother though. His name is Prince and he is a white rabbit. Smart little guy. He is on my level, someone to talk to. He is Stephen’s pet but I don’t mind, cause I have Mommy. I understand we may be getting a new canine brother soon after his surgery from Lindsay. He is younger than I am but he looks quite nice and Mommy loved his name. You take care, Sabrina. Alfie

  8. Timmy says:

    Thanks you for showing how well dear Freya is doing. It makes me feel better knowing what I will be going through in the near future. My Dr says I have 2 bad knees, especially the right one and I will be going in soon to have them fixed. Hopefully my mom will feed me roast beef too!

    • Timmy, I am so sorry to hear that you require the knee surgery. I won’t lie and say it’ll be a walk in the dog-park – I know how much you hate the strict kennel rest. But I can assure you that you’ll feel a million times better once you’ve recovered. And years down the road, you’ll be thankful you did it while you were still young and strong.
      Please keep me up-to-date on your progress.
      Licks,
      Sabrina

      • Timmy and Capone says:

        Well I made it through my surgery today with no major concerns…Whew! My surgeon Dr Bebchuk said I did perfect. I am really sore right now and am looking forward to coming home shortly. Just have to wait for my temperature to stabilize. I will keep you posted as I progress.
        Licks,
        Timmy

      • Hey Timmy,
        Glad to hear your surgery went well. You’ll be in my heart and in my thoughts while you recover.
        Licks,
        Sabrina

  9. Dana & Daisy says:

    Daisy and I are so happy that Freya is doing well!
    We hope you have a nice weekend!

    -Dana & Daisy

  10. Southern Fried Pugs says:

    Poor baby girl. So wonderful that she’s getting the help she needs though. Best wishes for a speedy recovery for Freya. Tell her to milk that roast beef for as long as she can though.

Leave a Reply

