Freya – please get better soon

Today I had planned on telling you about the rest of my long weekend and the super-fun camping trip I went on, but something more important has come up.

My friend Freya was supposed to come back to live with us as of last night. Her vet had determined that she had recovered from her knee surgery enough that she could come back. Jessica from The Boston Terrier and Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba had been caring for her since the weekend and had agreed to bring her by.

We waited and waited for her to be dropped off, looking out the window every few minutes to see if she was here. And then we got a phone call.

It seems that Freya had been acting normal and happy right up until it was time to go, at which point she started vomiting and acting very lethargic. She was immediately rushed to the vet where she got a battery of blood tests and x-rays.

Soon after she got the call telling her of this emergency, mum took off the vet’s office herself. I would have gone too, but it is never a good idea to bring a healthy Pug to the vet for no good reason. This can often result in little bits of paper being stuck in my eyes.

Freya’s blood tests came back saying that her liver and pancreas levels were abnormal. I can’t quite tell you what either of those things are, but I know that abnormal is not a good thing under any circumstances. The vet determined that it would be best if she stayed the night so she could be monitored and given lots of healthy fluids.

Mum will call and check up on her later but for now, all I can do is wait and hope. It’s a very helpless situation to be in, both for Freya and for those who love her. She is under the care of some very capable vets, but she is still vulnerable and recuperating major surgery.

If ever a Pug needed some strong ju-ju; it would be Freya right now. She has been though hell and back and is only just starting to live a pain-free life. Please keep her in your thoughts and your hearts and wish her a quick recovery.

It’s Wednesday and time to head over to BlogPaws for their Wordless Wednesday Blog Hop.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Freya, Pug and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Freya – please get better soon

  1. Seasweetie says:

    Big powerful juju on the way to Freya now!!

  2. Payton says:

    Sweet Freya will be in my thoughts and prayers!
    Love,
    Payton

  3. Col says:

    Poor little one. Sending strong puppy love her way.

  4. Oh no! We were thinking of Freya this morning! We send lots of puggie juju her way for a quick recovery.

    Please keep us posted.

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  5. yuki the dog says:

    she will definately be in my thoughts and prayers. get well freya.

  6. Lilo says:

    We will keep sweet Freya in our thoughts and prayers!! We up she is up and better soon!!

    ~hugs~

    Lilo and the Momma

  7. I am hoping and hoping that Freya recovers completely and that this is just a minor setback for her. Poor thing. She deserves better.
    Love Noodles

  8. Alfie says:

    Go Speed Freya. Please know that many of us in this house are thinking of you. Alfie & my brothers

  9. Alfie says:

    That should read, God Speed, Freya. Alfie

  10. Lindsay says:

    Good news! I was just at the vet and she is doing much better! She just needs to start eating again – but she has more energy! If she starts eating again tomorrow, she can go home!

  11. alycia says:

    oh no! poor freya! we’re pulling for you over here 🙂 stay strong 🙂

Leave a Reply

