Pug in the wilds – a camping adventure

Today I finally get to tell you about my big camping trip. But first I want to give a quick update on Freya.

After spending a night at the vet’s office while hooked up to an IV, Freya felt much more perky this morning. In fact she improved so much, her doctors have said she can go home……. as soon as she eats something. For some unknown reason, Freya is feeling the need to go on a hunger strike and has now spent her second night at the vet.

Freya, stop being so stubborn. If you think this is going to get you out of our Great Chase Match, you are sorely mistaken.

While we wait for Freya to allow her true Puggy nature to take over and chow down on a bowl of food, let me tell you all about my awesome camping weekend.

When the camping gear started being piled in the living room, I knew we were ready to embark on an adventure. On Saturday morning I watched the humans trek back and forth, back and forth carting stuff to the car. Finally it was time to load ourselves and go.

I think I need to state my biggest complaint about camping – you have to drive FOREVER to get there. At least there were treats.

Once camp was set, we went off to a restaurant for lunch. The campsite had a really cool restaurant that allows dogs on their patio. I’m not sure what the humans decided to eat, but what they shared with me was some yummy turkey and even more yummy bacon.

After lunch, we met up with a couple of the humans’ friends and went for a walk. Did somebody say walk? This wasn’t no city walk, let me tell you. There was lots of climbing up and down rocks and jumping over tree branches on the trail. And Hot! OMP, I don’t know that I’ve ever been so hot in my life! It was a good thing the humans had thought to bring along a big bottle of water just for me.

(be sure to click any of the pictures to biggify them)

Checking out the great view

The humans decided to do some geocaching in the hike

*pant, pant* I'm coming!

Beautiful view of the river

Pine Point Falls

The guard-beaver at the bottom of the falls. He made sure to distract us hoping we wouldn't notice the rest of his family

Me and The Will watching the beavers and the falls.

Me and mum at the sign at the end of the walk. We made it, all 8 kilometres of it.

Whew, just looking at those pictures is making me tired. I guess I’ll have to continue telling you of my camping adventures tomorrow.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Pug, Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pug in the wilds – a camping adventure

  1. Payton says:

    Hey Sabrina! First off, that Freya better start eating or all of us pugs are going to head her way to chow down on the food that she is dismissing! Keep us posted. Second, what a great adventure so far! Turkey and bacon! I’m not sure there could be a better start than that! The scenery is just breath-taking…no wonder you were panting. You and your mum look adorable together! Can’t wait to hear more about your camping trip.
    Love,
    Payton

  2. We’re glad Freya is doing better. We’ve never met a puggie that doesn’t eat….our paws are continuing to be crossed for her recovery and trip home.

    Mack and I have no idea what camping is. It sort of sounds like fun, but is there A/C? and where did you sleep? on a nice fluffy bed? The pictures were beautiful. Can’t wait to hear more about it.

    drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  3. Alfie says:

    Sure looks like you had a great time, Sabrina. We don’t camp cause walking with a walker would be too hard on Mom. We want to try and get to the Garage Sale on Saturday. Mom gave Lindsay tons of stuff but she says it is for a good cause. She even gave her the life size Pug she got from someone when she turned 50 – a while back, won’t say how long but I wasn’t even in the picture then. Glad to hear Freya is getting better. Hope to see you tomorrow.

  4. Pingback: White Lake camping adventure – part two | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

