White Lake camping adventure – part two

I hope you liked yesterday’s post and pictures about my first day of camping.

After our big hike, I really was ready just to go home and sleep. I was so hot and so tired, how could there possibly be anymore?

Well, there was. When we got back to the campsite a big fire was made and out came the steaks. Yes, I said steaks.
Can you blame me for turning up my nose at my boring old bowl of kibble when I was mere feet away from the godly aroma of grilling steak? No, I didn’t think so. Thankfully the humans felt my pain as well and decided to share.

Mmmmmm, steak!

What is the other must-have when you are camping with a glowing campfire? Marshmallows!
As the sun got lower, the fire just got prettier and more mesmerizing.
Determined not to miss the sunset, we trekked down to the beach before it got to dark.
All too soon it was time for bed. Minnie and Mack, I am sad to report, there is no AC in a tent. Not that you need it. At night the temperatures drop quite a bit in the wilderness.  I’m not sure you could describe the air mattress as fluffy. Squashy is a better description. At least it was almost as big as the bed at home.

In the morning after a quick breakfast, we took a trip down to Rainbow Falls. This time we were able to drive almost all the way. Good thing too. It was so hot and muggy, I really didn’t think I’d be able to walk far at all.

The view was beautiful. The water so calm and cool.
In the other direction was the falls with humans fishing and playing in them.
I was all ready to go wading when a weird contraption was pulled out and strapped to me. In the water I went, way too deep for even my tippy toes to touch bottom and suddenly… I was swimming!

Look at me!

Swimming is really not all it’s cracked up to be. I’d much rather just wade up to my belly and keep my feet firmly planted on the ground.

All too soon it was time to go, break camp and head home. This time I welcomed the long drive. Wrapped in a towel, the sun on my back and the car’s AC blowing across my nose, I slept the whole way home while snuggled on mum’s lap.

How is camping where you live?

**Freya Update**
Freya’s vets finally released her last night and she came home with us. I am happy to say she is feeling so much better. Thank  you for the ju-ju, I know it’s made all the difference. Freya is not allowed to run, jump or go on stairs just yet while her knees continue to heal but she is walking better all the time.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Holidays, Pug and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to White Lake camping adventure – part two

  1. Seasweetie says:

    You are adorable in your life jacket! And I’m so glad Freya is better.

  2. Payton says:

    Oh, yeah! I’m so thrilled for Freya and will continue to keep her in my thoughts until she is 100% (and ready for the great race show-down!). The pictures today are just as great as yesterday, but I can’t help focusing on the steak…………..sorry, had to wipe the drool off of the keyboard! YUMMY! If camping = steak, I think I’m going to have to ask that we go. Hey, mom! Glad you had fun and even got to try swimming. I’ve never done that before. Rest up after your adventure!
    Love,
    Payton

  3. pugmantis says:

    Wah! LOVE your adventures! Can hardly wait to see more. Kisses and pug snuffles to dear Freya.

  4. Southern Fried Pugs says:

    Steak and swimming? How awesome. We love both! And marshmallows! Mom gives them to us without the roasting though. Hope you got one of those, too!

Leave a Reply

