Cooling vest – the design stage may be done

You may remember some weeks ago that mum ordered a Frogg Toggs Chilly Pad in the hopes to make me a vest with it.

The pad came a little while ago. Mum has been racking her brain on how to design a vest that will offer the most cooling. If you look online, most of the cooling vests seem to be built like a winter vest with most of the fabric across the back and a strap around the middle to keep it in place.

Anyone who has spent time with Pugs in the summer know that the cool needs to be applied to the back of our necks and on our chests & bare tummies where the fur isn’t so thick. Oh, and on our toes. Stick our feet in ice or cold water and you can see the energy return. But, I’m not about to wear booties in the summer………. so forget I mentioned that part.

I have a really good feeling about this design. I can’t wait until it is actually finished. I promise to make mum take pictures of the process and share them with you all. In the meantime, let me give you little taste.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in dog sweater and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cooling vest – the design stage may be done

  1. Payton says:

    This is so exciting! And I love the green color! Mine is hot pink, so I think when you are done, I’ll have to get mom to order me one like yours…she’s likely to mess up a bit so a spare will be a necessity. Keep us posted! Have a wonderful day Sabrina and tell Freya we said hi!
    Love,
    Payton

  2. WolfSong says:

    I can’t wait to see what your Mum comes up with for a design…I hope she makes a paper pattern as she goes. This could turn into a lucrative side business for her, if she was so inclined! 😉

  3. Lilo says:

    Lilo’s was purple!!! She only got to wear it a couple of times, but I was amazed at how well it worked. I can’t wait to see the design your mom comes up with!! WolfSong is right about those being a great side business!! Especially in this heat!

    ~hugs~

    Jess

  4. Hi Sabrina
    My Mommy CANNOT WAIT to see how your Mommy’s design works out! She has been trying to puzzle over the same thing for a year now (with the idea of using SHAM WOW). Keep us posted on the progress. With this hot hot summer we need all the help we can get!
    Love Noodles
    re HOT – it is HOT this week but a cooling trend is on the way here. We cannot establish a normal pattern this year, it seems.

Leave a Reply

