Keeping cool in the hot summer sun

We had a brief reprieve from the heat this weekend.

Did mum take advantage of the cool weather to work on my cooling vest?

No.

But we did take a fun trip to one of the dog parks. Maple Grove is a large park bordered  by a river. There are little trails through the woods and wider trails in wide open spaces.

We tried to go down to the river. The river is still very high due to the spring flooding and flowing quite swiftly so mum decided it would be better to look and not attempt to swim. In order to get to the river, we had to cross a large patch of ground that had been muddy, but has since dried up due to the heat and lack of fresh rain.

This combination has left a really interesting field of cracked, dried ground with deep tracks left-over from wetter times. After the cool woods, the trail opened up to a large field with a wide path cut through tall grass. I looked up into the sky and this was my view.

I love a prairie sky.

Mum wanted to show just how tall the grass had grown so off we went into the brush.

Yes she is standing. Yes the grass is still taller than her.

Not to be outdone, the Will decided he needed to pose in the grass as well. Rather, in the weeds. No, I don’t know what he was doing either. You gotta love The Will.
By the time we got back to the car, the temperature had risen considerably and I was seriously wishing my cooling vest was ready. I had to settle for flopping in front of the air conditioner for the drive home.

I hope you were able to stay cool this weekend.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Pug, Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Keeping cool in the hot summer sun

  1. Let me know how the cooling vest turns out. Hu-mom keeps saying she’s going to make one for Mack…

    Wow, what a great park you all have. Looks like you had a great time. It looks like the Will stepped in some doggie stuff???

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  2. Payton says:

    You looked absolutely pooped, Sabrina! But it looks like it was worth it! The sky was so pretty.
    Love,
    Payton

  3. Kitty and Coco says:

    That is a sleepy pug face! It is nice to get out in nature sometimes. Mom got us a chilly pad also, and she just wraps it around my middle for the time being. A vest would be better for sure. Chilly Pad is our new best friend.

    Kitty and Coco

Leave a Reply

