August long weekend – the recap

This weekend was the August long weekend. The purpose to this long weekend? I guess it’s just so hot, the humans need to work short weeks to survive.

There is still no end to the heat wave. Every other day the forecast calls for rain or thunder storms which never come. The grass has gone brown and the grapes that were planted this year are looking kind of wilty. Am I complaining? Well, after the long, cold winter we just had, I guess I just have to say that I am thankful for the wonderful air conditioning.

The cooling vest is also making a difference. I’m not wheezing nearly as much when we walk while the sun is out – although those are still kept to a minimum.

Mum keeps wanting to drag me outside. She has this strange idea that summers mean you MUST be outside as much as possible, regardless of how uncomfortably hot it is. She doesn’t seem to understand that being outside makes me feel just like the grape plants – wilty.

Well on Saturday, we found the perfect compromise. Pool Party!

Auntie C and Uncle J are house sitting for the grandparents while they are out of town. They just so happen to have a pool in the backyard. A beautiful, cool, refreshing pool that  just screams to be jumped into.
Only one glitch – no dogs allowed in the pool!

When the cats grandparents  are away………..

I would never rat Jade out - you can't proof she was IN the pool.

Zoey would rather hang out BESIDE the pool than in it.

I'm swimming! I'm a swimmer! Whatever you do, just don't take your hand away!

Quick review of the cooling vest (yes we are working the how-to). It works great. It kept me nice and comfortable before I got all wet. After I got out from swimming (I promise, I didn’t shed one single fur in the pool. I kept it all in. Honest) I had to take it off because I was too cold.

Livingston, the old man was the only one who escaped declined to swim. He sat in the shade and watched us silly kids. I think he may have been laughing at us. Nah, I must be mistaken.

The pool was fun and all. Hanging out with the humans always make me happy. But the best – the best……… you can always guarantee that when a cluster of humans get together, there is always going to be food! This is what we smelled cooking. All. Day. Long.

BBQ turkey and corn on the cob

OK, the corn only went on at the end, but that turkey – it’s enough to make a Pug’s belly growl louder than I can even snore. And if you know Pugs, you know just how loud that is.

And the best part about corn is the cobs.
Um, Sunday the humans went for a day trip to the States. They left me home alone all day long and didn’t get me anything.

On Monday, it was too hot and muggy to even venture into the back yard so I hung out with the humans in the air conditioning while they played some online video games and talked about doing a PUG group. Uh guys, you got a Pug right here.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Holidays, Pug and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to August long weekend – the recap

  1. Payton says:

    Yeah, I guessed right! How cool that you got to swim, and such good form! Was this your first time? You’re so right about the best thing when humans get together – the food! I’m so glad you got a nibble! But shame on your family not to get you anything from their trip on Sunday! I would give them the cold shoulder for a while or snore extra loud tonight to make sure they know you won’t tolerate behavior like that again! Heehee! What an awesome weekend you had!
    Love,
    Payton

  2. Hi Sabrina,
    I’m a swimmer too. I am good at it but just don’t like to do it in the lake. Lake Tahoe water was so cold it kept me cool for a long long time. Love it.
    Keep cool,
    Love Noodles

  3. Kitty and Coco says:

    You were totally rocking the pool Sabrina! Looks like a fun pool day. But forget the pool, you got CORN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    We went swimming the other day in the g-parents pool too, but they say all pups are welcome. Coco liked it but I found that I am not a poop pup. I don’t like anything cold to touch my belly. Ick.

    Kitty

  4. Southern Fried Pugs says:

    Sweet weekend! You know how much we love swimming! Mom’s never let us eat corn on the cob, but it sure looked delish.

Leave a Reply

