Foster Furball Feature – The amazing Gizmo!

Today I am going to tell you all about Gizmo. He is a 5-year-old pug who is up for adoption and really needs a home of his own.

In a past life-time, Gizmo had a family and a home. He was surrendered to The Boston Terrier and Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba last February. At the time he’d been having accidents in the house. He was really quite skinny and a little freaked out. Once in the rescue, it was quickly discovered that he had a bladder infection. Once the antibiotics kicked in, the accidents miraculously stopped.

Gizmo has been staying with us for about three weeks now. He is the sweetest, most outgoing and easy-going boy you could ever hope to meet. He does have a stubborn streak that is as wide and as long as a highway, but mum thinks that is because he is used to getting his own way and not used to being given direction.

Oh, did I mention he has the most beautiful eyes?

Mum has not had to kennel him at all. He is perfectly house-trained and is behaved enough not to touch the eye-level  recycle bin that often contains yummy smelling discards. He doesn’t dig in the garden and he knows how to act around cats – even grouchy cats like Shinobi.

Did I mention he doesn’t snore?

Gizmo is a “man’s Pug.” Although he likes mum, he would way rather follow The Will or Uncle around. This suits me just fine. I don’t always like sharing.

Gizmo will chase balls and frisbees and the Cuz, but he hasn’t quite gotten the idea of bringing them back to the humans to throw again.

He doesn’t guard his toys, he takes treats nicely and is a gentleman about not shoving me out of my bowl at dinner time. I may be a slow eater, but I still like to be allowed to finish my bowl without a fight.

Gizmo thinks he’s my new beau and tries to give me affection all the time. There is only so much a girl can take. The humans have been working hard on curbing his…… enthusiasm and he seems to be listening better and better.

Mum and I were talking the other day and quite frankly, we can’t figure out why Gizmo has been up for adoption for so long without a single visit. It’s really quite heartbreaking. I know there is a family out there that wants a happy-go-lucky and adaptable Pug with no baggage. I mean, who wouldn’t?

Oh, Giz asked me to add this for him….. If it isn’t too much to ask, he would really like a family with a young human who needs a best friend. A young person who would like a friend to play with and run with and snuggle with.  Gizmo would be that best friend forever. He would love to sleep in a couch-fort, go on adventures and battle pirates, or dragons, or whatever his new friend’s imagination came up with.

A quiet, adult home is OK too, but it can get boring. His first pick would be the hustle and bustle of a home with child or two.

We have one more week before Gizmo’s original foster family returns from holidays. My hope is to find his forever home before that time.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in dog rescue, foster dog, Gizmo, Pug and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Foster Furball Feature – The amazing Gizmo!

  1. Wilma says:

    Oh Gizmo is so handsome, and he looks so sweet. I hope your wish comes true and Gizmo finds his forever family soon.

  2. Mia says:

    We do so hope that sweet Gizmo finds his forever home!! He sounds like such a good boy!!!

    ~hugs~

    Mia

  3. Minnie Moo says:

    Hi I’m new to your blog.
    I love that you all are so big into fostering and adopting! My brother Lincoln was a foster and then we decided to adopt him. He was a little bit of a love machine too. Sometimes us girls have to put those boys in their place. Besides Gizmo is a pretty cool name. I’m sure he will be adopted in no time.

    Muah,

    Minnie Moo

  4. Payton says:

    Gizmo sounds like a great catch! He’s such a cutie and well behaved. I can’t believe he hasn’t been adopted yet. Must be that there is the perfect family out there making their way to him. Sabrina, you are so kind to tell us all about him. I love that picture of you. I can really feel you making the speech for your mom to type into the computer! Heehee! Have a great weekend!
    Love,
    Payton

  5. Hi Sabrina
    I wish Gizmo could be my brother from another mother but Mommy said there is no way she can afford another pet (two are tough – me and Mommy #1 ;-))
    So we HOPES HOPES HOPES he finds the perfect family for him. You are so right – he is too special to be family-less for long.
    Love Noodles

  6. Oskar says:

    Hi guys,

    We don’t have a foster pet to feature this week on Pet Blog United’s Foster Friday. If you want to have Gizmo featured drop us a line at PBU at comcast.net.

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

  7. Southern Fried Pugs says:

    How sad his previous owner (family is too good a word for them) couldn’t be bothered to take him to the vet to see what the problem was. That’s the first step with potty issues! But his perfect family is out there somewhere. We’ll send puggy prayers for his new family to find him soon.

  8. Pingback: A song for Labour Day | Sabrina's Pug Tails

  9. Pingback: I’ll see you on the other side | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

