In honour of a great citizen

Unlike some of you lucky Puggies out there, I am not allowed to go to work with mum. Her job has some rule about no Pugs, or any other kind of dogs in the workplace.

Rules are made to be broken and sometimes luck is with me.

When I found out mum had to work on a Saturday, I was kind of bummed. That all changed when she pulled my leash out. We drove out to a park and then stood around for a long time. Eventually, some people came and stood with us. As they joined our little group, each person stooped to give me a little pat or two.

Some men were working, installing a big stone pillar. There was no pee-mail on it so as I watched the action, I still had no idea where it had come from or we were there with it.

Finally the men finished and left. And then mum brought the camera out. Imagine my surprise and upset when I was told to sit and be good while she pointed the camera at the stone pillar and some of the people who had been standing around with us!

I know! I couldn’t believe it either. A pocket full of liver treats and she’s photographing humans? Really?

Anyway, once the humans left, mum picked me up so I could get a better look at what all the fuss was about.

One of the aspects of mum’s work is a program called the Citizens Hall of Fame. It was established to recognize citizens who have made outstanding contributions the Winnipeg’s quality of life.

A bronze portraiture is created for each person inducted into the Citizens Hall of Fame and they are installed in the Assiniboine Park along a beautiful walkway. The artists who sculpt these busts are all local people who live in Winnipeg.  It’s these bronze busts that make this program unlike any other in North America.

The man who was honoured this year was Harold Buchwald. He wasn’t a celebrity, He didn’t write great songs and he wasn’t a great sports star. What he did do was spend his life making Winnipeg a better place to live. It was because of his influence that the Canadian Museum for Human Rights is being build right here in Winnipeg and he co-founded the Arab-Jewish dialogue group. He used his influence and network of friends to help organizations and give them the break they needed to succeed. And he loved dogs – his son told me so.  Here is a better biography than what I can tell you.

Harold Buchwald had the big sleep a few years ago. His wife and two sons had come out to see the bust installed, along with a few friends. Once mum explained why we were there and why she had to work on a Saturday, I was really glad I had been on my best behavior and hadn’t complained too much about having to sit still for a terribly long time.

Once all the humans were gone, leaving only mum and myself, I made one little request.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In honour of a great citizen

  1. Payton says:

    Hi Sabrina! Sounds like your mum has a very rewarding job, and I bet it was great to be a part of it (especially in the park on such a nice looking day)!
    Love,
    Payton

  2. Wow Sabrina! That is so cool!!! I guess it is okay that you don’t get to go to your Mommy’s work all the time when you get to go at SPECIAL times like this last Saturday! BTW, I don’t get to go to my Mommy’s work, either. . . neither job as she has TWO!
    Love Noodles

  3. Wilma says:

    Aw Sabrina, I am sure Mr Buchwalt would be honored to have had you posing with his likeness. Sounds like a cool dude to me!

  4. Wilma says:

    Me again, I noticed at the last second before I posted my last comment, that wordpress had changed my website to .globally from .blogspot. Hmm. Fixed it, gonna see if it stays!

  5. Southern Fried Pugs says:

    That’s a pretty neat job your mom has. We’ve never been to work with ours either. Something about citizen rights or whatever at city hall. Blah blah. That’s okay because mom keeps really busy at work which means she would totally ignore us!
    It’s awesome that your mom has a job that leaves a good mark on the world.

  6. Jen says:

    What a lovely occasion to have your picture taken Sabrina. It sounds like your mum has a job that makes a difference- you should be proud.

Leave a Reply

