Foster Furball Feature – Bert the Chug

Today I’d like to tell you about my pal Bert. He needs a good home.

I’ve have the pleasure to have Bert come live with us for a couple of weeks and we’ve become good pals. He’s being fostered through the Boston Terrier and Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba.

Bert came into the rescue with his brother Ernie. Bert and Ernie are 5-year-old Chugs (Pug/Chihuahua cross) and litter-mates. They were both very loved and well cared for in their previous life, but stuff happens and their original family was no longer able to keep them.

Bert (left) and Ernie, brothers and partners in crime

Bert is the best of both breeds. He has the body and build of a Chihuahua with the height of a Pug. His tail is a bit longer and thinner than mine, but it still has that Pug curl to it. He has a cute smushed face with a slightly longer nose that allows easier breathing and less chance of overheating for no good reason. He is not quite as outgoing as your average Pug, he does have insecurities and perpetually looks worried, but he’s not as nervous and fearful as your typical Chihuahua either.

When Bert first came to stay he was very sad. He missed his family something fierce and missed his brother even more. In the protective shadow of his outgoing brother Ernie, Bert has never had to develop the skills needed to be his own dog. He has always relied on Ernie to lead the way.

Bert looking worried

That all changed when he came to live with us. I may be charming and photogenic, but I’m no pack leader. I can stand up for myself when I have to – or if my dinner is in jeopardy, but I’d prefer to cuddle.

The short time he’s been with us has made a big difference. Bert’s tail no longer droops, it is held high and curled. He has stopped moping and has started to show off his sassy and playful self.

Bert knows his commands; he knows sit, down, stay, come, outside and shake-a-paw. He listens very well – sometimes better than me. I think he’s just trying to show me up though. He walks nicely on a leash and is house trained. He’s happy to go outside whenever you tell him to, even if it’s cold and snowy out – how many Chihuahuas can you say that about?

Bert’s favorite place in the world is on a human’s lap. I think he’d be happy to live there for the rest of his life. Mum’s been trying to teach him that it is OK to sit beside her, but this is a very difficult thing for Bert to do. Why sit on a cold couch when you can lie across a warm lap? I’m not going to argue this point; I think it has great merit.

Bert looking handsome

Both Bert and his brother suffer from seizures and Bert is on medicine to control his (Ernie has never needed medicine). I had a chat with my vet about these seizures because they sounded scary. Dr. Sra from Southglen Veterinary Hospital told me that even with the medicine; he may still have 2 or three seizures a year. But they really are not anything to be scared about.

On the off-chance that he has a really bad one, Bert has another, different medicine to help him through it. But chances are he will never need this second medicine – chew on wood.

The main stuff he is on to prevent the seizures in the first place is a liquid that gets put on his food once a day. Bert doesn’t even notice that it’s there. Dr. Sra told me that this medicine is quite inexpensive so it shouldn’t cut into anyone’s cookie money. Good thing too because I like my cookies.

I took Bert to a Pug Party a week ago. His bother Ernie was there. I was able to catch a glimpse of the dog Bert is going to be once he’s settled into his new forever home. He and Ernie ran around together meeting all the other Pugs (and other dogs too). Just knowing Ernie was there gave Bert the confidence to strike out on his own and greet dogs and people by himself.

Ernie at the Pug Party. Unlike his brother, he is built like a Pug.

Sadly today is the last day Bert is going to stay with us. Mum has agreed to foster a small puppy who will need a lot of her attention.

It’s not all bad, Bert is going to stay with Crash and Shani until he is adopted.  They are two Boston Terriers that come to the Pug Parties. Their human is at home way more than mine are and she has promised that Bert will get lots of lap time while hanging out on the couch.

I think I may be jealous. Did I ever tell you that my job title is Lap-Magnet?

I hope Bert and his brother Ernie get real homes soon. They are both really nice boys who deserve a place to call their own.

Me, Bert, and tiny Poppy showing off our mad skills as Lap-Magnets

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in dog rescue, foster dog, Pug Party and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Foster Furball Feature – Bert the Chug

  1. Wow, what a cute duo! We sure hope Bert and Ernie find wonderful forever homes for Christmas!
    and thanks to you and your family for taking in Bert and showing him the ropes of being in a one dog family. Is there a way they can go together?

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  2. Wilma says:

    Oh that Bert looks like a real sweetie. If we were closer, i’d set him up with my Chug sister Brigitte. She’d surely bring him out of his shell. I sure hope he and his bro find their forever homes soon!

    Snorts,
    Wilma

  3. Payton says:

    I hope both Bert and Ernie get adopted soon! They seem like great dogs. Sabrina, you are so nice to share your lap with Bert. But who is Poppy? Is she the puppy your mum will be fostering next?
    Love,
    Payton

  4. Alfie says:

    Well, that is how it is, Foster dogs move on. That little puppy, Poppy, is a real sweety and your Mom needs to give attention to a 6 week old. I have looked after 8 weeks olds but not younger cause they are with their Moms. She will do fine having you as a Foster big sister. Alfie

  5. Pingback: Playgroup Wrap-up | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

