Dogpark daydreaming – it ain’t easy being a Pug

As the weather turns colder, I often sit and dream of going to the dog park.

I imagine myself as a beautiful, husky-type.

I have a gorgeous brush of a tail thick fur to protect me from the cold. People stop and stare at me and comment. I embody the beauty of the cold winter.

Other times I am a retriever.
My webbed feet increasing my grip as I lope across the fields.

I am driven by the joy of fetching sticks and balls and anything else my humans may wish to throw for me.

I am large and confident. I make new friends easily and am looked up to by my peers.
Sometimes I am a racing breed.

A greyhound or a whippet, my breed doesn’t matter because I am so fast. I am just a blur as I race through the park.

You’ll never get a good look at me, you’ll just hear me coming, and then marvel as you try to watch me race off.
Then I remember I am just a little Pug. I am neither graceful nor flashy.

I need help keeping warm in the snow.

When large dogs approach, I am leery and cautious.

My eye sight is poor. Not that I have any desire to fetch, even if I could see where the stick went.

I may not use the dog park to its fullest potential, but I still love going. I love the new smells and running off-leash – even if I do mostly stick to following within my mum’s shadow. People do stop to pet me and coo over me because I am that cute.  They make comments about how well-trained I am and how they wish their dogs would stick close to them, rather than run about and not return when called.

And there are days when, despite my insecurities, I do manage to make a new friend.

As the song says, It ain’t easy being green a pug.
But I am green a pug and it’ll do fine.
It’s beautiful!
And I think it’s what I want to be.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Walk and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dogpark daydreaming – it ain’t easy being a Pug

  1. Payton's Gampy says:

    Well done Sabrina!!

    Gampy

  2. Wow, Sabrina, you just described Mack at the dog park!!!!!!!! I just love your pink coat, too.

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  3. Payton says:

    That sounds like me too! Must be a pug thing and how great it is to be us! Your hoodie is super cute too!
    Love,
    Payton

  4. Alfie says:

    You look great in your pink coat, Sabrina. Mom got me a sweater but I refuse to wear it cause I am a man’s man. Mom says it is because I am spoiled but not really. I do like TOYS though!!! I warned the Brothers that when the ladies (Maggie and you) come to the Party to watch themselves. So much to do but all worth it. I want to show you where I live and meet Maggie. See you and your Mom on Saturday. I even got you ladies a special treat cause it isn’t every day I get visited by two ladies. Alfie

  5. Benny & Lily says:

    very cute! We love your hoodie
    Benny & Lily

  6. OH my SNOWS!!!! You looks very cute in your coat. Stay warms!

    Winston

Leave a Reply

