I’ll see you on the other side

Mum came home from work yesterday to tell me some very sad news.

After a very short battle, my friend Gizmo has crossed the Rainbow Bridge. His vet thinks that he may have had a brain tumor they did not know about.

If you never had the pleasure of meeting Gizmo, you really missed out. He was a real character who had a knack for wriggling into the heart of everyone he met. He could be the most stubborn Pug you’d ever met, but he was also one of the sweetest.

After months in rescue he finally met that right family and it was love at first sight. They loved him because of all his wonderful traits and despite his bad ones. They even loved him when he peed on their Christmas tree.

Mum and I ran into him at the dog park just a week after he’d been adopted and it was very obvious to both of us that he was just over the moon with his new family. Where he’d been somewhat independent when he lived with us, he was stuck like glue to his new mom. From day one he was in love with his new sister, even if she wasn’t into playing chase and didn’t always know what to do with his “I’m a lover not a fighter” ways.

I am really broken up by this sad news. I saw him just a couple of months ago and he was still happy and vibrant.  That he is gone has just knocked me sideways.  I am comforted in my knowledge that he was loved by a family who were committed to giving him all the love and care any dog could ever hope to have. I send all my love to his family who are now left to pick up the pieces.

I love you Gizmo and I know that we’ll meet again on the other side.

 

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Gizmo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’ll see you on the other side

  1. Noodles says:

    Hi Sabrina
    I am so sad that Gizmo is gone. It was too soon. But just think of all the love he brought to you and this FUR ever family in that short amount of time. I truly believe he is now among the stars shining brightly down on us.
    Love Noodles

  2. Alfie says:

    It is always sad when a friend from the Rescue makes teir way to their furever home and then unexpectedly get ill and pass on. My Mom was very sad as well and so am I. Rest In Peace Gizmo and see you at the Bridge. Alfie & His Mom

  3. Seasweetie says:

    So sad, Sabrina. I remember when you talked about Gizmo. I hope you and your family can find some comfort and you’ll see each other again in the future.

  4. Payton says:

    It is comforting to know that in Gizmo’s last days on earth he was surrounded by his family and all of their love, but it is sad for all of those that he left behind. Sabrina, we are thinking about you and Gizmo’s family right now.
    Love,
    Payton

  5. Karen Millar says:

    Aww, that is sad, but it’s good to know Gizmo was loved right up until the end. I know it must be hard for his family, but I hope they’ll move on and look to adopt another little furkid who really needs a home. *huggles*

  6. Benny & Lily says:

    so sorry to hear about Gizmo…
    Benny & Lily

  7. BunkThePug says:

    Hi there!

    I am so sorry to here about Gizmo. He sounds like a sweet-heart. RIP puggums.

Leave a Reply

