Not so Wordless Wednesday – Baxter the Puggle

Meet Baxter! He is a Puggle who is one or two years old.

Baxter was found as a stray by the Winnipeg Animal Services (WAS). Can you believe nobody cared to come and claim him?  Baxter has double cherry eye. Although it looks painful, he tells me it’s not. Sadly, WAS does not have the resources to pay for the surgery needed to fix his eyes, and they are already full to the brim with other unclaimed strays. When the Boston Terrier and Pug Rescue approached WAS to release Baxter with the promise that his cherry eye would be taken care of right away, I think they were pretty relieved.

And so he got to come home with us.

After we adopted Poppy, we made a deal with the rescue that we would take fosters on an emergency or short-term basis. The rescue is pretty sure they’ve got a long-term foster for him who is currently out of town so we were allowed to have him for now.

Poppy was so happy when she met Baxter. Finally, a friend who can keep up with her!

And while they play, they both leave ME alone.

So far, Baxter is playing fairly gently with Poppy. And he doesn’t really react to her trying to chew on him.

I know, he really is a handsome boy.

So far we have learned that Baxter can sit, lay down and maybe knows shake a paw on command. He has no food aggression at all. Not when Mum asked him to stop eating, not when Poppy tried to get in his bowl or even when Poppy tried to steal a treat from him. He loves being outside, but only if a human is with him.

He likes to run and play. This boy has so much energy, I don’t even know where he gets it from. This must be the Beagle part of the Puggle. He also has a longer snout so he won’t have all the breathing problems us Pugs do.

I know from past experience that it takes about two weeks for a dog in foster care to relax enough to start showing his real personality. I think that once Baxter  gets comfortable, he is going to be a real good pal to the right family.

If you, or anyone you know are interested in having Baxter join their family, they can visit the Boston Terrier and Pug Rescue‘s page for more information.

In the meantime, I think I need to join in the fun and play me a game of Chase!
It’s Wednesday Thursday and time to head over to BlogPaws for their Wordless Wednesday Thankful Thursday Blog Hop.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in foster dog, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Not so Wordless Wednesday – Baxter the Puggle

  1. Anna says:

    Awww he sounds like a great dog. I have always kinda liked pugs personalities just didn’t want to take on the health issues. They can be great family dogs though, and I do suggest them to some who are looking. Hope baxter finds a great home soon.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

  2. Baxter is so handsome! We are putting our puggie paws together to pray he finds a forever home quickly and has the surgery as well. He sounds a lot like our foster brother, Mario the puggle. He also has endless energy, too.

    You are so great to host a foster, even if short term.

    Drools and licks,
    Minnie and Mack

  3. Payton says:

    Baxter is cool! I’ve never seen a black puggle before. Hope he finds his forever home soon!
    Love,
    Payton

  4. Judy Kelley says:

    Hi Sabrina,
    When we first brought home our Dodger pug he had a cherry eye. The vet said we would be looking forward to surgery, yuck! But he also talked about keeping his nose wrinkles clean and his eyes clean. So we started cleaning his face with warm water and would kind of massage his cherry eye gently. We noticed that it would calm down and go back in his eye with gentle pressure. Eventually it just went away! Dodger just turned two and has not had any more issues with cherry eye. You would never know he had one. I don’t know if this would help Baxter, I just wanted to share our experience. Hugs to everyone!

  5. Benny & Lily says:

    You run faster than that lightening
    Benny & Lily

  6. timchildress1 says:

    Hope Baxter finds his forever family soon. It looks like he’s very content, and he’s in the best care. Stop by and bark over at Brando and Bogart! We love new furfriends!! Have a wonderful week 🙂

  7. So nice to meet you Baxter 🙂

    I’ve got my paws crossed that you find your forever home really soon!!

    Wags,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  8. Baxter is quite handsome. We hope he finds a forever home soon. Thank you for helping to take care of him until then!

  9. Pingback: Catching up | Sabrina's Pug Tails

Leave a Reply

