Monday Foster Feature – Lousha

I know, I know. She’s neither a Pug nor a Boston Terrier.

Meet Lousha. She is a three-year old Boxer who came into the BTPRSM rescue through an owner surrender. For the life of me, I cannot imagine why anyone would want to get rid of this beautiful girl.

Who knows what goes through the minds of humans. Certainly not me.

Lousha and Poppy became fast friends right off. Finally someone to play chase with Poppy, a never-ending game of chase. *Whew* I’m exhausted just watching them.

Like any typical Boxer, Lousha has an abundance of energy. She even out-plays Poppy – a feat I never thought possible. In her former home she was well-trained, that is obvious. She  listens well, respects boundaries, doesn’t jump on people and even stays off the furniture (except the bed).

She plays nicely with her toys and is very gentle about taking them and giving them back. She really likes playing fetch, although she hasn’t quite gotten the idea that the game will only continue if the toy is given back. Rather than start a game of keep away, mum usually just ignores her until she drops the toy back on the couch as an ask for it to be thrown again.

Lousha loves car rides and sits (or even lays down) quietly. And she knows the command “get in the car” as mum found out this weekend when she accidentally got out of the house.  “Get in the car Lousha!” was all it took to keep her from running down the street like a crazy dog. Of course the reason why she was out of the house in the first place was because mum and I were going to see dog trainer, Brad Pattison and Lousha was adamant that she come too.

Mum and the other rescue girls with Brad Pattison along with adoptable, Ernie (front and centre) and me (eating my leash while standing behind mum).

She walks nicely on a leash, which is good because The Will has been taking her for an extra walk every day when he gets home from working the night shift.

I’m not so mad about missing out on this second walk as The Will comes home in the middle of the night and I’d way rather be sleeping than walking when it’s bedtime. Even Poppy prefers to snuggle in bed while The Will and Lousha go for their middle-of-the-night walk.

Lousha, like any typical Boxer is also pretty protective. She has decided that mum must be pretty defenseless and has taken to loudly telling The Will off when he comes home in the middle of the night. It’s a good thing he doesn’t take any crap from her because Lousha is a very scary sounding dog when she is being protective. He just turns on the light, grabs the leash and gives her the option of being a twit or going for a walk. And off they go.

Lousha has seen a vet on a regular basis throughout her life, however she was never spayed. Thankfully she was never bred either. The rescue took care of this oversight pretty quick and she went for her spay last week. While she was at the vet’s office, they found out she had an ulcer under her tongue – about the size of a toonie (approximately the same size as a silver dollar for you American folks).  I was wondering why she was underweight and this certainly explains it. I wouldn’t want to eat either if I had a big sore on my tongue.

Anyway, a course of antibiotics and some burger & rice added to her regular feedings will fix both problems up real quick. Sadly for me, Lousha really likes her burger & rice. So much so that her pills get hidden in there and then inhaled before she can even realize what she is doing.

Whenever we have fosters who are picky eaters, mum will hide it in bits of cheese slices. It’s unfair to give such awesome treats to one dog in the house and neglect the rest so we all get cheese slices, even the cat.

I was so looking forward to two weeks of cheese treats.

Despite her cheating me out of my treats, Lousha is fitting very well into our home. I know The Will would be over the moon if she were to stay, but that just isn’t in the cards. As soon as her picture was put up on the rescue’s Facebook page an application to adopt came in. Lousha is going for a visit on Thursday. I just know they are going to want to keep her. How could anyone not fall in love?

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in dog rescue, foster dog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Foster Feature – Lousha

  1. Two French Bulldogs says:

    Lousha sure is a cutie…

  2. Winston willbur says:

    I have no doubt that she will find her forever home very fast. She is lovely.

  3. Southern Fried Pugs says:

    We wish Lousha the best on Thursday! That stinks about the cheese, though.

  4. pugmantis says:

    Oh, my friend down the hall, Boss, is a Boxer, and mama is crazy for him, but he’s a bit too bouncy for me. Maybe when he grows up he’ll be a bit calmer, but I might be kidding myself. Either way, mama thinks that Boxers are Da Bomb.

    Lola Pug

Leave a Reply

