Poppys first birthday – I think I’m an adult now

Poppy here.

Yesterday was my birthday. My very first birthday.

This day marks my passage from puppy to adulthood. I’m not sure how I’m supposed to feel as an adult – to be honest, I don’t feel any different.

Sabrina is my adult role model, but I certainly don’t think I’ll ever be as laid back as she is. The humans often joke if she were any calmer, she’d be stuffed. That totally doesn’t describe me.

I guess as an adult I’m supposed to start taking more responsibility and take care of my loved ones. I’ve been trying.  I wake mum up almost every day by attempting to share a dirty sock with her. I place it on her face and wait for her to grab it and play tug with me. She never does. But I know playing tug with a stinky sock makes me happy, it must make everyone else happy too. That’s like taking care of her, isn’t it?

As an adult, I’m supposed to start seeing my elders on more of an even level. I gotta tell you, Sabrina and the humans are way below my level. I try to hang out with them, but they just want to sit on the couch or sleep. Really? Life is for exploring – at breakneck speed, if possible. You never know what you’ll find around the next corner. But if you take your time getting there, whatever it is might already be gone.

As a puppy I have gotten away with a lot when it comes to greeting new friends. Dogs are so much more forgiving when you are a puppy. All you have to do is run up to them and then lay on your back, showing your belly and they instantly fall in love with you. Now that I’m a full-grown dog, it just isn’t as easy. I lay there showing my belly and they walk away. Sometimes I have to chase after dogs and lay down in their path several times before they stop and sniff me.

And then there are those special times when you just see someone across an empty field and you just know you are going to be best buds right off the bat.

One thing being an adult means is that I get to be trusted with more responsibility. My kennel was put away a while ago because I was able to prove to the humans that I can be trusted more and more. I get to make more decisions on my own. I have to, Sabrina is too busy sleeping or watching out the window to make them for me.

Sometimes I just decide to sleep on the floor on a blanket rather than snuggle on the couch. It doesn’t happen often, but it’s still my decision to make.

All in all, I think I’m going to like being an adult. I may never be able to conform to all the expectations being an adult dog may bring, but I am sure I’ll have fun trying.

Tomorrow I’ll tell you all about what I got and how I celebrated my birthday.

 

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Poppy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poppys first birthday – I think I’m an adult now

  1. Benny & Lily says:

    Happy Birthday sweetie pie. You do look bigger
    Benny & Lily

  2. Southern Fried Pugs says:

    Never grow up, Poppy. Stay young as long as you can.

  3. Payton's mom says:

    Poppy, you are a beautiful pug and that spunk of yours is priceless. Can’t wait to hear about your special day.
    Love,
    Christy

Leave a Reply

