Magically appearing puppies

Poppy the black pug

Hey, it’s Poppy here today! Sabrina says now that I’m an adult Pug I need to start talking about more serious stuff; it can’t all be dog-parking and sock stealing adventures. Pfffft!

Anyway.

Meeka

Meeka at 5 weeks pregnant.

Today I want to introduce you to Meeka. She is a tiny black pug who is only a few month older than me. She is so little and cute, she could be my twin. She came into rescue a few weeks ago after being posted on Kijiji. Her previous family had only just gotten her and her pal – a boy Puggle a few weeks before.

Right about that time Meeka went into heat – something female Pugs (and other dogs too, I guess) do when their bodies think it’s time to start making puppies.

Of course, if your girly bits are removed like mine were, your body will never even think about puppies.

So, she went into heat. Coincidentally her Puggle pal also had all his boy bits. I don’t know how all that stuff works, but Meeka ended up with a tummy full of squirmy puppies and a family who decided that a mom with puppies was going to be way too much work. Up on Kijiji she went.

Thankfully, the rescue constantly watches Kijiji for vulnerable dogs, and so do many of their supporters. Within hours, little Meeka was whisked away and on her way to the vet for a check-up – in a snowstorm even.

The rescue girls were worried about her being so tiny (14 pounds at ½ way through her pregnancy) and the daddy being so big (Puggles usually weigh closer to 30 pounds) but the vet said she’d be ok and set up a follow-up appointment for a better check on the babies once she was closer to the estimated due date of Valentines day.

She won’t be needing that appointment. Somebody must have messed up counting because those puppies came last night.

I’m with The Will and “all for magically appearing puppies”, but I know you want all the gory details and blow-by-blows. So here goes.  **Note – it isn’t all happy. 

11:45 Meeka started pushing.
1:37 – Auntie Jessica got a call from the foster mom, that Meeka had been pushing and then stopped. Starting to get worried, she was going take Meeka to the vet, as nothing had happened for a while. While Auntie was messaging the three vets from Southglen, her foster mom was making a call to the Pembina Emergency Vet, to let them know she may be coming down, then it happened…
1:53 – Puppy #1 – Black Male – moving around and squealing, Meeka cleaned him up well.
2:04 – Puppy #2 – Black Male w/white flash on chest and white on toes. **This little guy didn’t make it. He was squealing when he came out and while she was cleaning him, but then he stopped breathing. Her foster mom tried everything and did the best she could, but we couldn’t get the little angel back…. RIP. 
2:56 – Puppy #3 – Black Female w/white stripe on chest
3:01 – Puppy #4 – Black Male w/long white stripe down chest/tummy area
4:23 – Puppy #5 – Black Male w/triangle-shaped white blaze on chest
5:01 – Puppy #6 – Black Female w/small circle of white on chest

At 7:59 Auntie heard from the foster mom that all were doing well and eating. Meeka is being a good mom; she is very interested in cleaning the babies.

So there you go!  Mum says it will be a few weeks before I get to meet the new babies. I feel a special kinship already. I mean, not only is Meeka a little black Pug just like me, but if I hadn’t been saved by the rescue, that could have been me!

My pal Bellatrix says February is Black Pug month. Yea, I don’t know where she gets these things either but I’ll go with it.

Well Miss Meeka has done Black Pug month proud by introducing 5 healthy, happy little black pugs. Way to go Meeka!

Five "magically appearing puppies" only a few hours old.

Five “magically appearing puppies” only a few hours old.

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in foster dog, Pug and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Magically appearing puppies

  1. Benny & Lily says:

    Holy macaroni! We didn’t know puggies had 6 at time. Congrats to new momma
    Snorts,
    Benny & Lily

  2. Payton's mom says:

    Such a great and happy story! Almost nothing cuter than pug puppies!
    Love,
    Christy

  3. Claire says:

    Congratulations Meeka! We would love to adopt a a female black pug/ puggle.
    We have a handsome 12 year old pug and we’ve been looking for a young pug for my 9 & 7 year old to play with. Our old pug is not as playful as he once was? When will they be ready for there forever home?
    Buddy

Leave a Reply

