House Rules

Leftover and unwanted kibblePoppy here.

I think sometimes I get a bad rep around here of being a wild and crazy pup with no respect for the rules.  I say that is totally unfounded! Well, mostly at least.

I  have learned my manners, I follow the rules of the house,  I always go out of my way to make friends with new fosters that come in the house and I don’t chase the cat unlike some pugs who remain nameless (Sabrina). I’ve even proven myself trust worthy enough that I get to go to Pugfest this year.

Say it with me… P-U-G-F-E-S-T!

Anyway, I have been really making an effort to be a good pug and I feel my efforts are being taken advantage of.

Let me give you an example.

Yesterday morning Sabrina and I were fed our breakfast. Late. This is a common occurrence in the morning, but I take it in stride. You know? The rule is Sabrina and I have to sit in the living room while mum plays the “how long can I tease the dogs for” game. For this game, we have to sit still and wait for her give the ok before we can rush to our bowls of food which have been placed on the floor.

After what feels like a year she finally gives us the go ahead to eat. As I am starved from being without food for over 12 hours I go and chow down. No messing around when it come to breakfast. The faster the food gets in my belly, the better it is for everyone.

Of course Sabrina has to think about eating and then daintily pick each kibble out of the bowl, drop it on the floor and thoroughly examine it before eating it. And that is for every single little kibble. Have I ever mentioned she can be a little neurotic?

Anyway…

The second stupid rule about dinner time in our house is that no-puggy may approach another pug’s bowl until that second pug has walked away. I think Sabrina made the rule up and mum just enforces it. It’s stupid really. I mean, if you are going to donkey while eating your dinner you probably aren’t even hungry in the first place and are just eating to make sure us starving pugs (ME) can’t have any.

But I’m a good pug and I abide by the rules regardless of how stupid or unfair they are.

So this morning in question, Sabrina picks and contemplates each and every piece of kibble and then she stops and just sits there with food still in her dish. Because she is still sitting beside her dish, it doesn’t count as walking away. So I wait, and I wait. I can feel my tummy grumbling in hunger and the drool pooling in my mouth. And she just sits there looking dazed.

“Eat the darn food already!”

But no.

I could have gone and dove in, but no. I am a good pug so I just sat and cried. What else could I do?

Finally mum comes by, grabs MY dish and pours uneaten the kibble in it. YES!

And then she pushes me away and gives my dish to Sabrina who happily grunts away and finishes her meal.

Really, how much can a pug take?
Poppy the pug waiting for food

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Poppy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to House Rules

  1. DaisysMom says:

    Poor Poppy!! Sounds like pure torture. Daisy has the same rule with the cats but once they walk away all bets are off. You should get a treat for behaving!!

  2. Noodles says:

    Poppy! OMP I had no idea you were so severely mistreated! Mutiny Now!
    Love Noodles
    PeeEss, I eat like you – no messing around. Molly, on the otherhand. . . 😦

  3. Pingback: House Rules – Setting the record straight | Sabrina's Pug Tails

  4. Payton's mom says:

    Poppy, Daisy feels the same way when Donald isn’t quite finished with his meal yet. I think she wonders if he got more.
    Love,
    Christy

Leave a Reply

