House Rules – Setting the record straight

Sabrina the pug

Sabrina here to set the record straight.

I’m sure you read Poppy’s rant yesterday about house rules and how she’s “being taken advantage of”.

Whatever.

If you haven’t read it, here it is.

I’ll give Poppy some credit; she really has matured into a nice pug, one that can be taken out into public without too much worry of embarrassment. Most of the time.  The enforcement of house rules has helped mold her into the pug she is today.

One big house rule has been created to make sure each pug (and other dog too) in the house can know with confidence that they can eat their food without interference. Remember, we often have foster dogs staying over. It is important to teach and reinforce  respect for one another.

My bowl is my own. Regardless of how long it takes to eat my fill. If I wish to spend all morning picking at my breakfast, that is MY business. When I’m done and walk away from my dish, it is fair game. That is the rule. But until I walk away, it is my dish. Don’t touch.

On the day in question, mum had given me the wrong bowl when she went to feed me. My bowl is shallow and rounded on the bottom. The dish she grabbed had sides that went straight down to a flat bottom.

I ate what I could from this inferior bowl but left a ring of kibble at the bottom where I couldn’t get my face into. I knew if I sat long enough, mum would figure it out and fix it for me. She can be a bit slow sometimes, but she is always looking out for me.

In the meantime, Poppy had to get all anxious and greedy. For the record, we are fed the same amount of food. There is no reason for her to need any of my portion. Ever.

Finally mum noticed something was up. She immediately rectified the situation by pouring the remainder of the kibble into a more suitable bowl (that just happened to be the one Poppy had been eating out of) and let me finish my breakfast. Let me repeat, MY breakfast.

I ask you, who’s taking advantage of whom?
Leftover and unwanted kibble

About Sabrina's Pug Tails

My name is Sabrina. I am a three year old fawn pug who lives with my three humans and my brother-cat Shinobi. I came to live with my family in February of 2010. I don’t remember much about my life before that. I know that I didn’t have a nice warm bed to sleep in or soft couches to lay on. I was rescued from my previous life by the Boston Terrier & Pug Rescue of Southern Manitoba along with my brother, sister and mom. My human mum tells me that some dogs work at being smart and some work at being cute, and I am very, very cute. I think there may be some kind of insult here………
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to House Rules – Setting the record straight

  1. Noodles says:

    Little sisters! Enough said, huh Sabrina?
    Love Noodles

  2. Payton's mom says:

    This is why I am so glad to be an only child.
    Love,
    Christy

Leave a Reply

